The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Message from the Dean

dean darin zimmerman

Welcome to the Swain Family School of Science and Mathematics at The Citadel! Our faculty and staff are dedicated to your success and your development as a principled leader.  Through personalized attention, our mission is to see you meet – and exceed – your education and career goals.  In every undergraduate and graduate degree and certificate program we offer, we couple outstanding classroom education with skill-sharpening, transformative experiences such as research, capstone projects, internships, service learning, and study abroad courses.  Mentoring and networking opportunities will connect you with Citadel alumni and friends of The Citadel who have experience in your chosen field, and can provide advice and open doors.

With twelve bachelor’s and four master’s degrees, as well as a variety of degree focus areas (concentrations) and certificates in the core sciences, mathematics, and health professions, we offer a broad range of programs that provide you the foundation for high-paying and highly desirable careers in STEM, nursing and medicine, business, law, or further graduate study. Explore your options by visiting the pages for our departments of biology, chemistry, cyber and computer sciences, health & human performance, mathematical sciences, nursing, and physics. Please feel free to contact our department heads, who are more than happy to help guide you and answer any questions.

Darin T. Zimmerman, Ph.D.

Dean and Traubert Chair
Swain Family School of Science and Mathematics

 

zanin.web  Biology
Dr. Kathy Zanin, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-7077
kathy.zanin@citadel.edu
   
 image Chemistry
Dr. Robert Granger, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-1067
rgranger@citadel.edu
   
 image Cyber and Computer Science 
Dr. Shankar Banik, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-5039
shankar.banik@citadel.edu
   
 tim bott Health and Human Performance
Dr. Tim Bott, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-7958
bottt1@citadel.edu
   
IMG 1683  Mathematical Sciences
Dr. Mei Chen, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-7882
chenm@citadel.edu
   
subasic kim  Nursing
Dr. Kim Subasic, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-1630
ksubasic@citadel.edu
   
 headshot yochum hank Physics
Dr. Hank Yochum, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-6953
hyochum@citadel.edu

  the citadel swain ssm navy

Back to Top