Information And Actions Being Taken Related To COVID-19
The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Message from the Dean

dean darin zimmermanWelcome to Swain Family School of Science and Mathematics at The Citadel! Through personalized attention, our ambition is to see you meet – and exceed – your education and career goals.  Our entire faculty and staff team is dedicated to preparing the next generation of principled leaders in the sciences and mathematics through outstanding classroom education that is coupled with skill-sharpening, transformative experiences such as research, capstone projects, internships, service learning, and study abroad courses.  Moreover, mentoring and networking opportunities will connect you with alumni and friends of The Citadel in your chosen field of interest who can provide advice and open doors.

With twelve bachelor’s and four master’s degrees, as well as a variety of degree focus areas (concentrations), we offer a broad range of programs across science and mathematics that provide you the foundation for high-paying and highly desirable careers in STEM, nursing and medicine, business, law, or further graduate study. I invite you to explore your options by visiting the pages for our departments of biology, chemistry, cyber and computer sciences, health & human performance, mathematical sciences, nursing, and physics.  Please contact our department heads, who are more than happy to help guide you and answer any questions.

Darin T. Zimmerman, Ph.D.
Dean and Traubert Chair
Swain Family School of Science and Mathematics


Biology
Dr. Kathy Zanin, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-7077
kathy.zanin@citadel.edu

zanin.web 

 

Chemistry
Dr. Robert Granger, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-1067
rgranger@citadel.edu

image

 

Cyber and Computer Science 
Dr. Shankar Banik, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-5039
shankar.banik@citadel.edu

image

 

Health and Human Performance
Dr. Tim Bott, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-7958
bottt1@citadel.edu

tim bott

Mathematical Sciences
Dr. Mei Chen, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-7882
chenm@citadel.edu

mei-qin-chen

Nursing
Dr. Kim Subasic, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-1630
ksubasic@citadel.edu

subasic kim

Physics
Dr. Hank Yochum, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head
(843) 953-6953
hyochum@citadel.edu

headshot yochum hank

  the citadel swain ssm navy

Back to Top