The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Clubs, Activities, & Awards





American Chemical Society


The Charles L. Tucker, Jr., and Harriet P. Tucker Chemistry Scholarship - The Charles L. Tucker, Jr., and Harriet P. Tucker Chemistry Scholarship was initiated in 2003 under an annuity contract established by Mrs. Harriet Tucker Johnston, widow of Charles L. Tucker, Jr., Citadel class of 1943. The scholarship is available to one of more Citadel cadets who major in Chemistry. Cadets must possess attributes in accords with the high standards of The Citadel. The first award was made in 2007.
The Chester E. Hatch, Jr., Scholarship - The Chester E. Hatc, Jr., Scholarship was initiated in 1972 as the result of contributions from Mrs. Chester E. Hatch, Jr. The fund is named in honor of Chester E. Hatch, Jr., Citadel Class of 1937. Scholarships are available to cadets majoring in Chemistry who are in financial need. Scholarships are awards on the basis of student or extracurricular activites, leadership, integrity, industry, and evidence of ability and responsibility. The first award form the fund was made in 1974.
Debbie and Chris Swain, '81, Scholarship - The primary purpose of this endowment is to provide funds to support scholarship awards to a student or students believed to possess those attributes of ability, character, temperament, and personality that are in accord with the traditionally high standards of The Citadel. First, preference for this merit-based scholarship will be given to students majoring in either Biology or Chemistry who are the best and brightest of their peers. Reccommendations for the award are to be made by the Biology and Chemistry Departments.
Dr. Henry Lucius "Luke" Laffitte, Sr., '44 Endowed Scholarship - In December of 2010, Bill and Rachael Best announced to The Citadel Foundation their intention to establish The Dr. Henry Lucius "Luke" Laffitte, Sr., '44 Endowed Scholarship in memory of Dr. Henry L. Laffitte, Sr., '44. Scholarship award preference will be given to a cadet who is a science (biology/chemistry/physics) or pre-medicine major with an interest in pursuing a career in the medical field who has achieved an academic standing of excellence. Consideration shall also be given for an individual's accomplishments and talents outside of academic fields as well as community service work and personal character. 
Wideman Research Fellowship - this fellowship provides funding for a Citadel student to work on a research project with a faculty member of the Department of Chemistry for a ten-week period in the summer. The student must have written support from the faculty member who will be serving as their research advisor and submit a brief research outline to the department chair.
Wideman Scholarship - this scholarship will provide the successful applicant with a total of $18,000.00 toward their tuition over a four-year period. The initial award for the freshman and sophomore year is $4,000.00 per year. As long as the recipient remains a Chemistry major with a 3.0 grade point average, the scholarship is renewable for $5,000.00 per year for the remaining two years. 
Medbery Teaching Award - The Citadel is always pleased to recognize and reward its outstanding teachers. As a primarily teaching institution it is especially important to do this. The C.A. Medbery Award has been set up to do just this - to reward dedicated, caring teachers in the sciences and technologies. Because of the additional challenges placed on freshman in these areas by the Fourth Class System, the Medbery Award is given annually to the faculty member who makes a significant contribution to the welfare of the students and is devoted to excellence in teaching at the freshman level in the areas of Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, Civil Engineering, or Electrical Engineering. These ideals were specifically chosen as the selection criteria because they were the ones that Professor Medbery believed in during his career at The Citadel as a member of the Department of Chemistry.
Medbery Research Mentor Award - members of the Chemistry Department may be considered for this award if they agree to serve as a research director on a student research project during at least one summer term.
Back to Top