Information And Actions Being Taken Related To COVID-19
The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
14 Mar 2014

Changing of the Guards underway at The Citadel

2015 Summerall Guards make performance debut at Corps Day

CHARLESTON, S.C. −The Citadel introduces the 2015 Summerall Guards on Sat., March 15, 2014, during Corps Day, the 171st birthday of the South Carolina Corps of Cadets. For the rising seniors selected, being a member of the Summerall Guards will be one of the greatest achievements in their educational career. The free, public, event will be marked by a ceremonial exchange of rifles. It occurs at 9a.m. at The Citadel's Summerall Field.

The Citadel's Summerall Guards are some of the most respected cadets on campus. Their purpose is to exemplify the thorough training cadets undergo; the willpower and physical stamina required for success; and the precision and unity that result. The drill they perform is verbally passed down from class to class. It is a unique series of movements based on an old German close-order drill, carried out to a silent count. Each year's Summerall Guards take responsibility for teaching the next year's unit the intricate steps of the drill. The tradition began in 1932 when the platoon was created and named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former chief of staff of the U.S. Army and president of The Citadel from 1931 until 1953.

The 61 rising seniors who comprise the 2015 Summerall Guards have excelled beyond others during rigorous training. They can precisely execute selected portions of the drill series, as complemented by their superior level of physical fitness.

Following a brief performance, the 2014 platoon will present its annual Clubb Award to Khalil Khoury, who served as the Guard's Commander. The award is presented to the member of the Summerall Guards voted by his peers as its most outstanding member. The award is named for Harold K. Clubb, Class of '68, who died in a plane crash in 1971. Also presented is the Anthony Griffin Sword, which is passed down from the current Summerall Guards commander to the new commander each year.

Introducing the 2015 Summerall Guards:

First Battalion Staff


Alpha Company


Bravo Company

Stephen J. Ikalowych

Charles L. Nause

Jacob Z. Wells

Charlie Company

Edwin C. Smythe (Alt)

Delta Company

Ryan C. Branch

Second Battalion Staff

Drew A. DeBruhl

Echo Company

William H. Calhoun

Ryan M. Druell

Timothy D. Inman

Daniel L. Phillips

Nicholas C. Ruggiere

Foxtrot Company

William A. New

Golf Company

Brandon J. Fetrow

Luis A. Lawson

Zachary S. Peters (Alt)

Alexander R. Piratzky

Hotel Company

Hayden D. Lancaster

Regimental Band Company

Alexander M. Berman (Alt)

Third Battalion Staff

John C. Ogden (Front Guide)

India Company

Michael A. Gross (Commander)

Clinton T. Sulek

Michael T. Towlson

William S. Wutzer

Kilo Company

Sergio S. De La Cruz (Rear Guide)

David R. Duncan

Gardner, Benjamin D.

Richard N. Griffin (Alt)

Travis C. Jordan

Lima Company

Griffin R. Hoffman

Rhett D. Oliver

Cameron S. Pollard (Alt)

Stephen F. Rohrlack

Joseph V Russo

Zachary N. Stackhouse (Alt)

Mike Company

Jonathan R. Puwlaski

Fourth Battalion Staff

Kevin T. Lowring

November Company

Matthew G. Rogers (Supply Sergeant)

Oscar Company

William Beaudoin

Lubor Cerva

Robert F. Kimball

Peter J. Klimek

Colton K. Smith (Alt)

Andrew B. Surman


John C. Doolittle

Timothy M. Hornbeck

John M. Russo

Matthew G. Small (Alt)

Alex M. Worner (First Sergeant)

Tango Company

Nelson G. Moorhead (Alt)

Peyton T. Talbott

Fifth Battalion Staff


Palmetto Battery

Ryan A. Cass

John P. Lintner

Brayden A. Reince

Shannon Todd

Papa Company

Jordan C. Bell

Dominick F. Calderone

Christopher F. D'Esposito

John-Thomas A. Edwards

Sierra Company

Eric S. Davis

Victor Company

Heath S. Taylor

Michael D. Towery

Back to Top