The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Scholarships and Awards

The Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarships

The Swain Family School of Science and Mathematics, jointly with the Zucker Family School of Education, is pleased to announce the availability of National Science Foundation funded full scholarships for students enrolled in STEM teacher preparation degree programs at The Citadel.

Who Can Apply
Students interested in:

To Apply
Go to
For more information, please email

 nsf_logoScholarships are funded by grant NSF DUE-1339901


Other Scholarships and Awards

Below is a list of the scholarships and awards both within the school and the departments in the school. Students are encouraged to contact their respective departments to inquire about department-specific scholarships.

School of Science and Mathematics

  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award: Recognizes superior academic achievement by an undergraduate major from the School of Science and Mathematics’ discipline
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Award:Recognizes superior academic achievement by a graduate student from the School of Science and Mathematics’ disciplines
  • Thomas Francis McGarey Award: Recognizes the senior cadet with the highest scholastic ranking in the field of natural science. Given annually in memory of Thomas Francis McGarey, Citadel class of 1914
  • Dr. Francis Eugene Zemp Award: Given annually to the senior cadet with the highest academic average in the field of pre-medicine
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award
  • Dr. Henry Lucius "Luke" Laffitte, Sr., '44, Endowed Scholarship: Scholarship award preference will be given to a cadet who is a science (biology/chemistry/physics) or pre-medicine major with an interest in pursuing a career in the medical field who has achieved an academic standing of excellence. Consideration shall also be given for an individual's accomplishments and talents outside of academic fields as well as community service work and personal character
  • The Horace A. Morris Scholarship: Scholarships are available to cadets pursuing a Bachelors of Science degree in any applied science, with preference given to cadets pursuing the study of physics. Eligibility for this scholarship requires that the cadet comes from one of the following South Carolina counties: Oconee, Pickens, Greenville, Spartanburg, Gaffney, Union, Laurens, Greenwood, or Abbeville

Department of Biology

  • Rex R. Skancky Scholarship: Preference shall be given to fully qualified applicants who are currently enrolled undergraduate students, rising juniors and seniors majoring in Biology who have GPA of 3.0 or greater in Biology and an overall GPA of 2.5 or greater, are American citizens, have distinguished themselves in extracurricular activities at The Citadel, and are recommended for consideration by a committee composed of the faculty advisor and officers of the Bio-Cid Club and concurred in by the Head of the Department of Biology. A minimum of two names will be recommended each year
  • Metcalf Biology Scholarship: Scholarships are available to rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors majoring in Biology who have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or greater; are American citizens; have demonstrated financial need; and are not recipients of Citadel Scholars funds
  • The Liptak Family Scholarship Jump Start: The primary purpose of this endowment is to provide funds to support a cadet(s) majoring in Biology who maintains a 3.0 GPA, and who needs assistance to complete their education at The Citadel
  • Debbie and Chris Swain, '81, Scholarship: First preference for this merit-based scholarship will be given to students majoring in either biology or chemistry who are the best and brightest of their peers. Recommendations for the award are to be made by the heads of the Biology and Chemistry departments
  • Outstanding Student Awards

Department of Chemistry

  • Chester E. Hatch Scholarship: Scholarships are available to cadets majoring in Chemistry who are in financial need. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of student or extracurricular activities, leadership, integrity, industry, and evidence of ability and responsibility 
  • CL and HP Tucker Scholarship: The scholarship is available to one or more Citadel cadets who major in Chemistry. Cadets must possess attributes in accord with the high standards of The Citadel
  • Wideman Scholarship: This scholarship will provide the successful applicant with a total of $20,000.00 toward their tuition over a four-year period. The initial award for the freshman year is $5,000.00. As long as the recipient remains a Chemistry major with a 3.0 grade point average, the scholarship is renewable for $5,000.00 per year for the remaining three years.
  • Outstanding Student Awards
  • ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award
  • SC Section of the ACS Award

Department of Health and Human Performance

  • NASPE Outstanding Major of the Year Award
  • Keith Hamilton Award: Senior HESS Major best demonstrating outstanding academic achievement and potential for future professional growth

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

  • George F. Reves Award: Superior ability and outstanding achievements in Mathematics and Computer Science

Department of Physics

  • John H. Daniel, Class of 1935 Scholarship: Scholarships are available to cadets seeking an undergraduate degree in Physics, with preference given to residents of Darlington, S.C
  • MG Wallace E. Anderson Scholaship: The Trust provides educational scholarships to eligible Physics cadets who display scholarship,extracurricular activities, leadership, integrity, industry, evidence of ability and responsibility, and financial need
  • Outstanding Student Awards
  • Sigma Xi Sigma Award
Back to Top