Information And Actions Being Taken Related To COVID-19
The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

CASM 2019 Inductees

The Citadel Swain Family School of Science and Mathematics

is proud to present the 2019 inductees into the

Citadel Academy of Science and Mathematics!


Distinguished Alumni Award:

Col Randolph J. Bresnik, ’89, Mathematics/Political Science

bresnik2Col Bresnik is an astronaut, TOPGUN pilot, explorer, and military leader. He had a distinguished military career as a test pilot and was a combat pilot in Operation Iraqi Freedom.  Col Bresnik served as Commander of the International Space Station for Expedition 53 and was a flight engineer for Expedition 52, gaining extensive experience in conducting science experiments and taking photographs from space.  He has a Master of Science in Aviation Systems from the University of Tennessee-Knoxville; is a graduate of the Air War College; and received an Honorary Doctorate in Aeronautics from The Citadel in 2010.  Col Bresnik participated in SSM sponsored leadership symposium entitled “Resiliency in Space Exploration” and was a Greater Issues speaker in 2017.

Dr. Douglas M. Carnes, ’64, Business/Education/Biochemistry

carnesDr. Carnes is an exceptional educator, businessman, entrepreneur, and visionary.  He earned a Ph.D. in Microbiology from University of Georgia and had an illustrious career as an entrepreneur and businessman creating several successful biotechnology companies. Dr. Carnes also developed training and educational concepts that instilled ethics, empathy and scientific knowledge as the basis for pharmaceutical sales and promotion transforming the pharmaceutical sales industry.  Currently, he serves as CEO of a Charleston based medical device company whose product is used as a rapid diagnostic aid for neurological diseases, such as concussion. Dr. Carnes taught the capstone Strategic Management course for the Citadel’s Baker School of Business and is a long-term supporter of many Citadel organizations, including being a member of The Citadel Science and Mathematics Council.

Dr. Louis D. Quin, ’47, Chemistry

quinlDr. Quin is an outstanding scientist, educator, mentor, and academic leader who served in the U.S. Army Chemical Corps.. He is a world-class chemist with over 250 journal publications and 10 books related to organophosphorus chemistry, and was the first recipient of an international prize in phosphorus chemistry. Dr. Quin was a James B. Duke Professor at Duke University and served as Chairman of the Chemistry Department.  He later served as Chairman of the Chemistry Department of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and was an outstanding role model for faculty and students, continuing to teach, advise, and educate students long after retirement. He participated on many national and international boards and committees and was elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Chemical Society. 

Emeritus Award:

MG Wallace E. Anderson, ‘34 (posthumous), Physics

andersonwMG Anderson was a scholar, educator, mentor and leader of The Citadel Faculty for more than 40 years advancing from an Assistant Professor of Physics to Department Head to Dean of the College and briefly, Interim President of The Citadel.  He graduated as valedictorian of the Class of 1934 and received a MS degree from the University of Kentucky and Ph.D. from the University of Michigan. Throughout his distinguished career at The Citadel, MG Anderson was an effective advocate for improving academic standards.  He established the honor society Phi Kappa Phi at The Citadel and his students knew him as being “tough but fair”. MG Anderson received the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award for “high thought and noble endeavor” and was awarded the Palmetto Medal in 1979.

Distinguished Faculty Award:

Dr. Randy Blanton (retired), Chemistry

blantonrDr. Blanton served as Chemistry Department Head for 16 years and is an outstanding educator, scientist, and mentor. He established the Wideman Scholarship program to attract and retain Chemistry majors and promote undergraduate research; increased the rigor of the Chemistry Undergraduate Research Program; and implemented the “Schiller Science Initiative” which renovated introductory laboratories and created a Biochemistry Laboratory.  Dr. Blanton was an active researcher publishing 19 scientific papers and two laboratory manuals.  He received the Citadel Faculty Award for Teaching and Service (2015) and the C.A. Medbery Excellence in Teaching Award.

Early Career Faculty Award:

Dr. Dan Bornstein,  Health & Human Performance

bornsteindDr. Bornstein is an outstanding teacher, mentor, leader and visionary.  He received a commendation from Board of Visitors in 2018 for his research demonstrating the impacts that poor physical fitness has on public health and national security.  He received a commendation from Board of Visitors in 2018 for his research demonstrating the impacts that poor physical fitness has on public health and national security.  Dr. Bornstein has published 22 peer-reviewed articles, presented 29 peer-reviewed abstract presentations, and has recently released his first textbook.  He has held several national leadership positions including President of the American Public Health Association’s Physical Activity Section and was recognized as their most outstanding collaborator in 2017.  Dr. Bornstein continues to be a strong collaborator and visionary and now leads The Citadel’s effort to establish The FREEDOM Center,  a nationally recognized multidisciplinary center for improving population health, military readiness, and national security.”

Past Inductees:

2018 CASM Inductees

2017 CASM Inductees

Back to Top