Information And Actions Being Taken Related To COVID-19
The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

2012-2008 CASM Inductees

2012: Dr. James D. Bearden III (Pre-Med, '65)

bearden_jamesDr. James D. Bearden III is currently the Vice President of Clinical Research for the Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System, a Managing Physician for the nationally-recognized Gibbs Cancer Center, and Director of the Bearden-Josey Center for Breast Health. He is the first Board-certified oncologist in South Carolina and is also board certified in internal medicine and hematology. He has received the Distinguished Alumni award from the Medical University of South Carolina.



2011: Dr. Alexander F. (Fred) Holland (Pre-Med, '64)


Dr. Fred Holland is a distinguished estuarine ecologist whose career has included stints as Director of the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources' Marine Resources Research Institute and of NOAA's Hollings Marine Laboratory. In 2009, he was honored with the South Carolina Environmental Awareness Award.





2010: Dr. William T. (Tom) Trotter (Mathematics, '65)

Dr. William Trotter's academic career includes appointments as a Carolina Research Professor and Assistant Dean of the College of Sciences at the University of South Carolina, Vice-Provost for Academic Affairs and Regents Professor of Mathematics at Arizona State University, and Professor and Chair of the School of Mathematics at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He has published over 120 refereed journal articles and a top-selling monograph, received substantial research funding, and served as Editor-in-Chief of Order.

 2009: Dr. John M. Palms (Physics, '58)


Dr. John Palms' illustrious academic career included rising through the ranks at Emory university as faculty, Dean and Vice-President for Academic Affairs, and culminating as President of Georgia State University and the University of South Carolina. Dr. Palms, a nuclear physicist, has served on numerous governmental, civic and corporate boards. He has received the University of New Mexico Distinguished Alumni award, the honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree from the University of South Carolina, and the honorary Doctor of Science degree from The Citadel.

2008: Dr. Harry Y. McSween (Chemistry, '67)

mcsween_hDr. McSween is Chancellor's Professor and Distinguished Professor of Science at the University of Tennessee. He is a leading authority on the compositions of meteorites and is the recipient of numerous awards including the Leonard Medal of the Meteoritical Society and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Geophysical Union. 


Back to Top