Information And Actions Being Taken Related To COVID-19
The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
10 Apr 2015

Citadel School of Business honors top leaders at Hall of Fame event


Dean Bill Trumbull, Michael Robinson, Sen. Tim Scott, Lt. Gen. Claudius E. Watts III, former Chief Justice Myron Steele

CHARLESTON, SC — Four distinguished business leaders are the newest members of The Citadel School of Business Hall of Fame. The school hosted its 12th annual induction ceremony on April 8 at the Holliday Alumni Center on The Citadel campus. This year’s recipient of the Alvah H. Chapman, Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award is U.S. Sen. Tim Scott. The Leader of Principle Awards recipients are: Lt. Gen. Claudius E. Watts III, USAF (ret.), former Chief Justice Myron T. Steele and Michael C. Robinson.

Leaders of Principle have enjoyed substantial success in business or public service and have made significant contributions to their communities. The Chapman award honors exceptional young leaders, ages 30 to 50, who have been successful in business and have made noteworthy contributions to their communities.

"I am honored to receive The Citadel School of Business Alvah H. Chapman award, named after a decorated veteran, dedicated volunteer and committed servant for those in need in his community,” said Scott. “I was inspired after learning more about Mr. Chapman and his commitment to public service. I firmly believe that each of us has a God-given responsibility to help those less fortunate.”

Scott was appointed senator in 2013 by Gov. Nikki Haley after the position was vacated by Jim DeMint. In special election in 2014, Scott received 61 percent of the vote, placing him in the seat for the remaining two years of the term he was filling. A conservative Republican, Scott served the Palmetto State for almost two decades in other elected positions including as U.S. Congressman, S.C. State Representative and Charleston County Councilman. Prior to joining the senate, Scott was the owner of Tim Scott Allstate and partner of Pathway Real Estate Group.

Watts served as president of The Citadel from 1989 – 1996. A native of the Pee Dee region of South Carolina, Watts graduated from The Citadel in 1958 with a Bachelor of Arts in political science and was commissioned in the U.S. Air Force. During his time in the military, he served as a command pilot in numerous positions, flying more than 7,000 hours on 276 combat missions. While on active duty he also attended the London School of Economics and Political Science as a Fulbright Scholar, earned a master’s in Business Administration from Stanford University and completed Harvard University’s Program for Senior Managers in Government. Additionally, Watts served as comptroller for the U.S. Air Force. He was a founding director of Carolina Financial Corporation and is currently the chairman of the board there, in addition to serving as chairman of the board for CresCom Bank.

Steele retired recently as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Delaware and is a partner at Potter Anderson & Corroon in Wilmington, Delaware. He has published more than 400 opinions resolving disputes among members of limited liability companies, and limited partnerships, and between shareholders and management of both publicly traded and close corporations. Previously he served as a vice chancellor of the Delaware Court of Chancery. He has presided over major corporate litigation and limited partner governance disputes, and writes frequently on issues of corporate document interpretation and corporate governance. Steele is an adjunct professor of law for Pepperdine University, the University of Pennsylvania, and University of Virginia’s law schools.

Robinson graduated from The Citadel in 1965 and is currently president of Charleston Appraisal Service, Inc. Robinson has been a strong supporter of the Lowcountry community and his alma mater. Most recently he was the driving force behind the creation of the Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Endowed Chair of American Government and Public Policy. Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Citadel Class of 1964, will be the first to occupy his namesake position after he retires from public office in 2016. Robinson has also supported numerous philanthropic agencies including Our Lady of Mercy Community Outreach and Coastal Community Foundation.

“These individuals are leaders in their respective professions,” said Dr. Bill Trumbull, Dean of the School of Business. “The Hall of Fame induction ceremony gives us the opportunity to honor and thank them for their contributions to the business community.”

The Hall of Fame Awards Ceremony is sponsored by The Citadel Class of 1965.

About the Leaders of Principle Award
Leaders of Principle have enjoyed substantial success in business or public service and have made significant contributions to their communities. Anyone can nominate a person for this award, and candidates may be living or deceased residents of South Carolina or another state and/or graduates of The Citadel or other colleges or universities. Moreover, the recipient’s values should support those of The Citadel School of Business.

About The Alvah H. Chapman, Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award
The Alvah H. Chapman, Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award was created to recognize exceptional young leaders, thirty to fifty years old, who have been successful in business and have made noteworthy contributions to their communities, just as Chapman had done.

About The Citadel
Charleston, South Carolina. The Citadel offers a classic military college education for young men and women profoundly focused on leadership excellence and academic distinction. Graduates are not required to serve in the military but about 30 percent of each class commission as officers in every branch of U.S. military service. Graduates of The Citadel have served the nation, their state and their community as principled leaders since the college was founded in 1842. The Citadel Graduate College offers more than 50 master's degrees and graduate certificates in a wide range of disciplines, plus six undergraduate programs, through an all-evening schedule. Some graduate courses are available online.

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top