The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
2 Feb 2007

About The Citadel Rifle and Pistol Teams

The Rifle Team
The Citadel rifle team dates back to 1932. Now co-ed, the rifle team has finished in the top three in the Southeastern Air Rifle Conference every season since 2001. The 2006-07 version of the rifle team features five women and eight men, and they have finished in the top three in all of their matches this season.

The team is currently led by junior Kevin Medert and sophomore Patricia Thibodeau. Thibodeau has led the Bulldogs in scoring in five of their 10 matches this season while Medert has paced them in four of their other competitions.

The Bulldogs earned an unofficial national championship in 1985 when they won the nation’s most prestigious competition in the Mardi Gras Rifle Tournament.

The Citadel also won 10 Southern Conference Championships in their history and took the top spot in their current conference, the (SEARC), in 2001 and 2002. The Bulldogs also won the SEARC Championship in 1999 as a club team.

More information

The Pistol Team
The pistol team has garnered national championships on three occasions, been runners-up to the national champions on four occasions and for 14 seasons from 1985-1999, they went undefeated. The pistol team has also produced 20 All-Americans, some of which were multiple winners in different categories.


  • Ranked seventh in the nation or higher since 1973. Have won Free , Standard and Air Pistol Championships at least once and been second and third overall more than eleven times. 
  • Twenty All-Americans on 74 teams since 1982. 
  • Dominated National ROTC individually and in the team category 1985-2000; withdrew from category to encourage more ROTC competition in 2001. 
  • Since 1985, five team and four individual national records set. Eight team members have been selected for the U. S. Olympics. 
  • One of five college teams (CIT, USMA, USCGA, MIT, USNA) that have qualified for invitation to every national college championship. Championship started in 1981.

More information


Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top