Information And Actions Being Taken Related To COVID-19
The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
29 Apr 2015

Phi Kappa Phi chapter recognizes 2015 inductees

The Citadel's Chapter of The National Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi is celebrating its 36th anniversary in 2015 by inducting 79 new members, including six accomplished faculty, staff and distinguished alumnus, and 73 cadets and students.

Chapter President Carl Betterton noted that an invitation to Phi Kappa Phi is not easily earned.

"Membership is open to scholars having outstanding academic achievement and who maintain integrity and high ethical standards. Only the top 7.5 percent of juniors and the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students are eligible," Betterton said.

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective honor society for all academic disciplines.

The new members are:


  • Dr. Lori Neal Fernald, Department of Psychology
  • Dr. Iordanis Karagiannidis, School of Business
  • Dr. Michael Donald Livingston, Department of English


  • Dr. Kevin J. Dougherty, Office of the Commandant


  • William E. Crowe, Citadel Class of 1974
  • Channing Proctor, Citadel Class of 1991

Juniors – Cadets

  • Samuel S. Benecke, Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Jeffrey S. Benedict, Greenville, South Carolina
  • Samuel P. Burroughs, Anderson, South Carolina
  • David Michael Cochran, Spotsylvania, Virginia
  • Nathaniel David Edwards, Summerville, South Carolina
  • Hank Estep, Blythewood, South Carolina
  • Nolan S. Faherty, Stafford, Virginia
  • Carson McCreary Finch, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Paul E. Gorsky, II, Summerville, South Carolina
  • Bradley Allen Grace, North Charleston, South Carolina
  • Evan Matthew Grant, Nicholasville, Kentucky
  • Michael Chandler Holmes, Jacksonville, Florida
  • Collins Langley, Germantown, Tennessee
  • Christopher Michael Mahon, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Michael D. Mason, Hollywood, South Carolina
  • James N. McManus, Mendham, New Jersey
  • Walker S. Mook, Awendaw, South Carolina
  • James Munson, Bloomington, Illinois
  • Matthew Scalise, Surfside Beach, South Carolina
  • Briggs Schoen, Simpsonville, South Carolina
  • Lauren A. Seedor, Wayne, Pennsylvania
  • Warren A. Snipes, Hanahan, South Carolina
  • Kenneth Carl Sparano II, Taylors, South Carolina
  • Cameron D. Summers-Powell, Palm Harbor, Florida
  • Joshua O. Terry, Barrington, New Hampshire
  • Brooks Stallworth Wagstaff, Columbus, Ohio
  • W. Stephen Wilson, Summerville, South Carolina

Seniors – Cadets

  • William Creed, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Shana J. Daniels, Charleston, South Carolina
  • William McAdoo Deford, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Chelsie Heathcoat, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Samuel K. Long, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Lauren Sherry Merriken, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Zachariah P. Ritsema, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina
  • Matthew K. Russell, North Charleston, South Carolina
  • Stephanie L. Stephenson, Hanahan, South Carolina
  • Chanity Wilson, North Charleston, South Carolina

Graduate Students

  • Randall Kevin Adcock, North Charleston, South Carolina
  • Jodie Ball, Johns Island, South Carolina
  • Billie Ann Blalock, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Robert N. Boykin, III, Sumter, South Carolina
  • Adrian W. Broome, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Ross Burnett, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Mikayla Kathleen Carr, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Kevin James Clark, Goose Creek, South Carolina
  • Thomas S. Clark, III, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Matthew Ward Coleman, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina
  • Cody R. Cramer, Daniel Island, South Carolina
  • Emillie Mckenzie Engram, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Jimmy Flannery, Johns Island, South Carolina
  • Christopher Fuchs, Johns Island, South Carolina
  • Matthew A. Gill, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina
  • Rachel K. Graves, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Amanda Gurski, Johns Island, South Carolina
  • J.D. Ingraham, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Brendan Curran Jones, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina
  • Brian Paul Keough, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Eric T. Kimchi, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina
  • Nicholas Kyryliuk, North Charleston, South Carolina
  • Caitlyn A. Lees, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Jorge Guillermo Leiva, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Erin McPherson, Hanahan, South Carolina
  • Melissa A. Mills, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina
  • Angela Rose Navis, Moncks Corner, South Carolina
  • Lacey Lee Neal, Prosperity, South Carolina
  • Melinda S. Norris, Johns Island, South Carolina
  • Jessica N. Ovbiagele, Daniel Island, South Carolina
  • Kim M. Perry, Goose Creek, South Carolina
  • Michael C. Stafford, Charleston, South Carolina
  • Jeffrey Bryant Sweet, Hanahan, South Carolina
  • Alan E. Williams, Goose Creek, South Carolina
  • Melissa Zaremba, Summerville, South Carolina
  • Kimberly C. Zerbst, Hanahan, South Carolina

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top