Information And Actions Being Taken Related To COVID-19
The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
13 Jun 2016

Citadel history professor named to inaugural class of AASCU Emerging Leaders Program

The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) recently announced the 25 candidates selected to participate in the inaugural class of AASCU’s Emerging Leaders Program (ELP). Citadel professor, JoelleNeulander, Ph.D. was among those selected from colleges and universities across the U.S. They will take part in a three-day seminar designed for promising mid-career professionals and faculty leaders in higher education that will be held June 11 - 14 in Washington, D.C.

“We need a robust pipeline of talented professionals interested in advancing their careers in higher education,” said AASCU President Muriel A. Howard. “AASCU has a long history of providing successful leadership development programs at every professional level of higher education administration. We identified a void at the mid-career level, and we believe our new Emerging Leaders Program will be an important complement in service to our members and others interested in advancing their careers.”

In addition to strengthening and enhancing leadership skills, participants in the Emerging Leaders Program will have the opportunity to engage in a national dialogue with experienced leaders and experts in higher education and to develop a network of colleagues from across the country. The program includes opportunities for hands-on practical exercises, a leadership self-assessment, and the development of a plan designed to help participants achieve their leadership goals.

Participants were nominated for the Emerging Leaders Program by presidents, chancellors and cabinet-level administrators; each participant must have demonstrated to campus leaders the potential for advancement at their campus or another institution. Upon completion of the program, nominators will identify a project, initiative or assignment that will expand the participant’s knowledge of the university and facilitate his or her growth as leader by using the skills learned during the program.

The 2016 participants are:

Jeff Adams, Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Maureen Andrade, Utah Valley University

Barbara Andrew, William Paterson University of New Jersey

Erica Bowers, California State University Fullerton

Katrina Coakley, Univ. of North Texas at Dallas

Toya Corbett, North Carolina Central University

Wallace Dixon, East Tennessee State University

Helmut Doll, Bloomsburg University

Krishna Foster, California State University, Los Angeles

Tony Gaskew, University of Pittsburgh-Bradford

Peggy James, University of Wisconsin-Parkside

Leah Kraus, North Carolina Central University

Jeffrey Leak, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Jonathan Lindzey, Lock Haven University

Lisa Lloyd, Texas State University

Stacy Mallicoat, California State University, Fullerton

Samantha McAuliff-Raynor, UNC General Administration

Maria McMath, Adams State University

Joelle Neulander, The Citadel

Lynette Reitz, Lock Haven University

Sarah Shin, University of Maryland Baltimore County

Earl Simons, York College of the City University of New York

Heather Van Mullem, Lewis-Clark State College

Paola Veras, CUNY York College

Amitra Wall, SUNY Buffalo State

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155



Back to Top