Information And Actions Being Taken Related To COVID-19
The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
4 Apr 2014

S.C. General Assembly appoints two new BOV members for The Citadel

CHARLESTON, S.C. − Two new members have been named to The Citadel's Board of Visitors and will begin serving their terms July 1, 2014. The seats, which are appointed by the S.C. General Assembly, will be filled by Stanley L. Myers and Fred L. Price, Jr., who both reside in the Columbia, S.C., area. The BOV has the responsibility for the direction and supervision of the college. All members serve six-year terms.Stanley Myers and Fred Price

"The Citadel Board of Visitors is excited by the S.C. Legislature's election of our new BOV members. Both are extremely talented and willing to apply their personal time and energy to their alma mater," said Lt. Gen. W. Michael Steele, USA (Retired), BOV chair. "Mr. Myers will be serving his first term on the BOV and will bring a fresh perspective and new experiences. Mr. Price returns to the BOV having already served six years as an alumni-elected member. His prior BOV service and experience will be a welcome addition."

Myers is a partner with the Moore Taylor Law Firm, P.A., located in West Columbia, S.C. He has a state-wide practice with emphasis on criminal defense. Myers graduated from The Citadel in 1998 with a B.A. in political science. As a football player he received numerous conference awards, and ended his career as the school's second-highest, all-time leader for total yards. Myers later graduated from the David A. Clarke School of Law in Washington, D.C.

"It is an honor and privilege to be elected to the Board of Visitors by the S.C. General Assembly," said Myers. "I look forward to honorably serving my school, acting in its best interests, and to giving back just as much at The Citadel has given me."

Currently, Myers serves as a major in the S.C. Army National Guard. He is the staff judge advocate at the 59th Troop Command. He served a 15-month combat tour in Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom. Myers also founded the Swansea Mentorship Program and currently mentors approximately 36 young men. He is also a member of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity.

Price, who will return for his second BOV term, is president of Columbia-based Ace Glass Company, Inc. He was elected by The Citadel Alumni Association to serve his first term from 2007 – 2013 and was vice-chairman for a portion of that time. Price graduated from The Citadel in 1975 with a Bachelor of Science degree. In 2006, Price was awarded the college's prestigious Palmetto Medal for his tireless work on behalf of the military college. Price's leadership in Citadel organizations has included service and involvement in more than 15 of the college's organizations and boards. He was president of The Citadel Alumni Association, president of The Citadel Brigadier Foundation, president of the Columbia Area Citadel Club and a district director for the former Association of Citadel Men. A life member of The Citadel Alumni Association, he has served on the association's board of directors since 1981.

"I am very proud to have been elected to Board of Visitors by members of The Citadel Alumni Association for my first term, and the members of the Senate and the House of Representatives of the state of South Carolina for my second term," said Price.

Price is also a community leader. Some highlights include service as board chairman for the Better Business Bureau of S.C., the Palmetto Health Alliance, and for Carolina Children's Home. He also served for 12 years on the board of directors for the Hammond School in Columbia and is currently a board member for Palmetto Health Alliance.

Myers and Price will replace Col. Glenn D. Addison, USAFR (Retired) and Col. Douglas A. Snyder, who are both from Charleston.

The current list of board members includes:

Lt. Gen. W. Michael Steele, USA (Retired), Chair

Col. Dylan W. Goff, Vice Chair

Col. Douglas A. Snyder

Col. Allison Dean Love

Col. Glenn D. Addison, USAFR (Retired)

Lt. Gen. John B. Sams, Jr., USAF (Retired)

Col. Tee Hooper, Jr.

Col. Peter M. McCoy, Sr.

Col. Robert H. Nuttall, Sr.

Co. L.E. "Gene" Pinson

Col. Greg A. Lapointe

Col. Myron C. Harrington, Jr., USMC (Retired) –Secretary to the Board

The Honorable Nikki Haley

Major General Robert E. Livingston, Jr.

The Honorable Dr. Mick Zais

Col. Leonard C. Fulghum, Jr., Chairman Emeritus

Col. William E. Jenkinson III, Member Emeritus

About the Board of Visitors

South Carolina law and college regulations define the role of the Board of Visitors. The Citadel's Board of Visitors has 14 voting members. Ex officio members include the governor, the adjutant general and the state superintendent of education; the other 11 members are graduates of The Citadel. The Board also has a non-voting secretary and can appoint as emeritus members individuals who have served at least 18 years on the Board. The General Assembly and the governor must elect members "based on merit regardless of race or economic status and shall strive to assure that the membership of the board is representative of all citizens of the state of South Carolina." Elections take place in the session prior to the expiration of a Board member's term.

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top