Most summer classes held online to reduce the spread of COVID-19. Current plans are to resume on-campus instruction in the fall. More info here.
The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
15 Mar 2008

2009 Summerall Guards make their Corps Day debut

Sixty-one juniors have been selected to become members of the 2009 Summerall Guards at The Citadel.

The Summerall Guards is a silent precision drill platoon made up of first-class (seniors) cadets who go through a rigorous physical training and initiation process and are chosen for their physical stamina and drill proficiency. Membership is considered a high honor by cadets at the military college.

The platoon was created in 1932 and named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former chief of staff of the U.S. Army and president of The Citadel from 1931 until 1953. Its purpose is to exemplify -- through a unique series of movements based on the old German close order drill and performed to a silent count -- the exactness and thoroughness with which The Citadel cadet is trained. Members come from nearly every company in the Corps.

The 2009 Summerall Guards made their official debut at Corps Day Weekend during the exchange of rifles ceremony They will continue their duties through their senior year next year. Corps Day is the 165th birthday celebration of the South Carolina Corps of Cadets.

Also during Saturday's events, the Summerall Guards presented the annual Clubb Award to Cadet Alvin D. Lewis, commander of the 2008 guards. The award is presented to the member of the Summerall Guards voted by his peers as the most outstanding member. The award is named for Harold K. Clubb, Class of '68, who died in a plane crash in 1971.

2009 Summerall Guards by company

Luis Barredo, Orlando, Florida
V. Paul Brancato, Savannah, Georgia
Jordan David Rodick, Portland, Maine
Julius Grady Siler V, Travelers Rest, South Carolina

Michael Raymond Pierce, Knoxville, Tennessee
Josh R. Summers, Newcastle, California
Wayne Wilson Sweeten, Blythewood, South Carolina

Joseph Samuel Amato, Woodbridge, Virginia
Front Guide Andrew Joseph Holbrook Heath, Easton, Pennsylvania
Michael Dru Jones, Charleston, South Carolina
Austin Robert Neal, Charlotte, North Carolina
Kenneth Joseph Perfido, Goose Creek, South Carolina

Paul Douglas Ferro, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Richard James Carbone, Branford, Connecticut
David Alexander Fuqua, Corpus Christi, Texas

Commander Gregory Alan Shoemaker, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Supply Sgt. William Player Holland, Scranton, South Carolina
Paul David Owens, Jr., Orlando, Florida
David Raymond Conlan, Newnan, Georgia
Woodward Harris Ashmore, Watkinsville, Georgia
Trey Nelson Tidwell, Universal City, Texas
Cory Marshall Weiss, New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Mathew Tyler Cowsert, Summerton, South Carolina
John David Bauer, New Windsor, Maryland
Aaron Jacob Gold, Raleigh, North Carolina

Daniel James Ammon, Arnold, Maryland
James George Burke, West Columbia, South Carolina
William Caldwell Hay Jr., Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Ronald William Layne Jr., New Milford, New Jersey
Jeffery Charles Rutland, Rock Hill, South Carolina

Christopher Kelly Brown, Colleyville, Texas
John Hedrick McGinniss, Norcross, Georgia
Bradley Holmes Mishue, Dillon, South Carolina
Blake Matthew Wyatt, Seneca, South Carolina

Jared Wesley Davison, Charleston, South Carolina
Benjamin Anderson Hunter, North Augusta, South Carolina
Cameron Lee Pierce, Chapin, South Carolina
Joseph Lester Williams, Bellevue, Nebraska

Valentin Jose Boza, Plantation, Florida
Derek Brent Moore, Sumter, South Carolina
Andrew Hamilton Teague, Rock Hill, South Carolina

David Edward Emile Fritz, Pilesgrove, New Jersey
Robert Kevin Gervasio, Lindenhurst, New York
Brian Scott Randall, Williamsburg, Virginia
Matthew Wayne Wells, Woodstock, Georgia

Patrick Joseph Sommer, Ridgefield, Connecticut

Thomas Robert Ellenberger, Charleston, South Carolina
Robert William Viehmeyer, Sunrise, Florida
First Sgt. Daniel Paul Fitzgerald, Wethersfield, Connecticut

Lynn Fleming, Birmingham, Alabama

Stephen John Loman, McLeansville, North Carolina
Robert Edwards Saint, Indianapolis, Indiana

Daniel Parker Stevens, Columbia, South Carolina
Rear Guide Neal Patrick Beckman, Charleston, South Carolina

Aaron Douglas Buchhop, Easley, South Carolina 

Jeffrey Anderson Creech, Greer, South Carolina
Jared Austin Cooper, Lakeland, Florida
Tyler Alexander Hitter, Derry, New Hampshire
Matthew Christopher Millard, Guntersville, Alabama
Jason Michael Pecore, Flower Mound, Texas
Steven Peter Verblaauw, Mahwah, New Jersey

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top