The Citadel

The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
9 Mar 2013

2014 Summerall Guards make performance debut at Corps Day

The Citadel introduced the 2014 Summerall Guards on Saturday, March 9, 2013, during Corps Day, the 170th birthday of the South Carolina Corps of Cadets.

citadel_01871839Sixty-one rising seniors that have gone through rigorous drill and physical training are annually selected as members of the Summerall Guards. Cadets are chosen for their ability to precisely execute selected portions of the drill series they will perform as Summerall Guards, as well as, their demonstrated level of physical fitness and stamina.

The platoon was created in 1932 and named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former chief of staff of the U.S. Army and president of The Citadel from 1931 until 1953. Its purpose is to exemplify the exactness and thoroughness with which Citadel cadets are trained. The drill, which is verbally passed down from class to class, is a unique series of movements based on the old German close order drill and performed to a silent count. Each year's Summerall Guards take responsibility for teaching the next year's unit the intricate steps of the drill.

Following the exchange of rifles between the 2013 and 2014 Summerall Guards, the platoon presented its annual Clubb Award to Cadet Caleb Black of Greenville, S.C. Black served as the Guard's commander. The award is presented to the member of the Summerall Guards voted by his peers as its most outstanding member. The award is named for Harold K. Clubb, Class of '68, who died in a plane crash in 1971. Also presented was the Anthony Griffin Sword, which is passed down from the current Summerall Guards commander to the new commander each year. Cadet Khalil P. Khoury of Spartanburg, S.C., received the sword during the rifle exchange.

Here are the members of the 2014 Summerall Guards:

First Battalion

Daniel P. Van Heemstede Obelt, Monroe, N.Y.

Alpha Company

Matthew Brian LaFlamme, Fort Mill, S.C.
Hunter Ray Pope, Irmo, S.C.

Bravo Company

Daniel Bromley Smith, Centerville, Tenn.
Christopher J. Zeller, San Jacinto, Calif.

Charlie Company

Matthew Warren Boatner, Colorado Springs, Colo.

Delta Company

Eric Matthew Benfield, Greenville, S.C.
Zackery Ryan LaFlamme, Fort Mill, S.C.

Second Battalion

Robert Seabrook Algard, Charleston, S.C.

Echo Company

Nicholas Alexis Matyuf, Sterling, Va.

Foxtrot Company

Evan David Gresham, Pendleton, S.C.

Golf Company

Cooper Layne Lemons, Fountain Inn, S.C.
Joseph Michael Schiano, Columbia, S.C. (First Sergeant)

Hotel Company

Benjamin Gordon Kottraba, Baltimore, Md.

Regimental Band Company

Nolan Ronald Moore, Lynchburg, S.C.

Third Battalion

Austin Perry May, Marion, N.Y.

India Company

Royce Matthew Appling, Pooler, Ga.
Collins M. Gundling, Camden, S.C.
Lyle Stratford Hedman, Myrtle Beach, S.C.
Sloan Addison Lindsey, Easley, S.C.

Kilo Company

Niles Lynward Goodfellow, Peachtree City, Ga.
Chandler Harris Headen, Charlotte, N.C.
Khalil Paul Khoury, Spartanburg, S.C. (Commander)
Joshua Louis Rothfeld, Fredericksburg, Va.

Lima Company

James Anthony DeRosa, Winchester, Mass.
Phillip Arnold Martin, Cottageville, S.C.
James Noah Watson, Townville, S.C.

Mike Company

Sims Brooks Dozier, Conway, S.C.
Benjamin Don Gordon, Long Beach, Calif.
Cole Donovan McIntyre, Moore, S.C.
Sean Robert Passailaigue, Charleston, S.C.

Fourth Battalion
November Company

Matthew Tyler Pace, Middlesex, N.C.
James Adam Stone, Simpsonville, S.C.

Oscar Company

Luke Daniel Johnson, Beaufort, S.C.
Jasper Dove Puckett Jr., Simpsonville, S.C.
Christopher Garrett Roper, Simpsonville S.C.
James Argento Smith, Magnolia, Ohio
Maverick Thomas Suits, Lafeyette, Ga.
Tanner James Wanish, Irmo, S.C.

Tango Company

Douglas Andrew Kelley, Greenwood, S.C.
Jack Kenneth Russell III, Summerfield, N.C.
William Richard Senn, Newberry, S.C.
Matthew Korey Shotwell, Maysville, Ky.
Christian Scott Thompson, Suwanee, Ga.

Fifth Battalion

David Thomas Hatch, Signal Mountain, Tenn.

Papa Company

Arthur Lee Blue III, Winston-Salem, N.C.
Maxime Jean Curioz, Waller, Texas
Zachary Rogers Dunahoe, Mount Pleasant, S.C.
Lewis Kemp Dunaway, Charlotte, N.C.
Aidan Thomas Fogarty, New Suffolk, N.Y.
Steven Charles Piper, Southampton, N.J.

Palmetto Battery

Kyle John Donnelly, Amawalk, N.Y.
Alexander James Hall, Montgomery Village, Md.
Michael Robert Perrone, Bloomsbury, N.J.
Tevin Tramel Radford, Beaufort, S.C.
Hugh Floyd Smith, Aynor, S.C.

Sierra Company

Matthew Rutledge Arend, Fredericksburg, Va.
William Taylor Humphrey, Lexington, S.C.
Lee Brock Moody Jr., Garnett, Kan.

Victor Company

William Rockwell McCaskill, Bethune, S.C.
Hugh Keener Urey IV, Willow Street, Pa.

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top