The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service

2010 Summerall Guards make Corps Day debut

Sixty-one juniors have been selected to become members of the 2010 Summerall Guards at The Citadel.

The Summerall Guards is a silent precision drill platoon made up of seniors who go through a rigorous physical training and initiation process and are chosen for their physical stamina and drill proficiency. Membership is considered a high honor by cadets at the military college.

The platoon was created in 1932 and named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former chief of staff of the U.S. Army and president of The Citadel from 1931 until 1953. Its purpose is to exemplify -- through a unique series of movements based on the old German close order drill and performed to a silent count -- the exactness and thoroughness with which The Citadel cadets are trained. Members come from nearly every company in the Corps.

The 2010 Summerall Guards made their official debut at Corps Day festivities on March 14 during an exchange of rifles ceremony. They will continue their duties through their senior year. Corps Day is the 166th birthday celebration of the South Carolina Corps of Cadets.

Also during Corps Day events, the Summerall Guards presented the annual Clubb Award to Cadet Daniel P. Fitzgerald, a member of the 2009 Summerall Guards from Wethersfield, Conn. The award is presented to the member of the Summerall Guards voted by his peers as its most outstanding member. The award is named for Harold K. Clubb, Class of '68, who died in a plane crash in 1971.

2010 Summerall Guards by company

Paul-David Benjamin Aiello, Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Hubert L. Amaker III, Irmo, South Carolina
Kingsley Parker Spiller, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Cody Reading Stegall, Rock Hill, South Carolina

Jonathon Joseph McSorley, Turnersville, New Jersey
Thomas James Sullivan III, Williamston, South Carolina
Patrick Andrew Swygert, Lexington, South Carolina

James H. Hagood, Charleston, South Carolina
Robert Reid Heos III, Greer, South Carolina

Grant Philip Broggi, Seabrook, South Carolina
John Scott Campbell Jr., Summerville, South Carolina
Griffen Bonner Greene, Sylvania, Georgia

William John Brim, Jacksonville, Florida
Marqus J. Ross, North Charleston, South Carolina
William Joseph Villeneuve, Lineboro, Maryland

John Benjamin Burbage, Charleston, South Carolina
Matthew John Carey, Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Michael Robert Polk, Charleston, South Carolina
George McCall Jenkinson, Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Charles Jerry Williams III, Charleston, South Carolina

Julian Lawson Walters Jr., Goose Creek, South Carolina

Zachary Roy Huskins, Rock Hill, South Carolina
Shane Gabriel Livingstone, Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
James Anthony McNeal, Fayetteville, North Carolina
Thomas William Nealon, Hanahan, South Carolina

Timothy VanHugh Barnhill Jr., Greer, South Carolina
William Ryan Hunt, Greer, South Carolina
Michael Joseph Maresh, Raleigh, North Carolina
Thomas David Morin, Blackstone, Massachusetts

Eric William Irwin, Phoenix, Arizona
Kevin Ross Jensen, Fayetteville, Georgia
Thomas A. Tapia, Acton, California

Markus J. Artreche, Winter Springs, Florida
Casey Mark Gibson, Aiken, South Carolina
Andrew Garrison Mager, North Charleston, South Carolina

William A. Bartek, Davenport, Iowa
Ryan Michael Douglas, Charleston, South Carolina
Luke Sciascia Schwartz, Northampton, Pennsylvania
Elisha Woienski, Belgrade, Montana

Matthew Joseph Burgess, Franklin, Tennessee
Andrew Charles McElhenny, Nashville, Tennessee
Christopher Allen Potts, Duluth, Georgia
Tyler Jennings Shealy, Chapin, South Carolina

Carl Dillitte II, Columbia, South Carolina
Thomas Farmer Hesse, Charleston, SC
Douglas Barry Sulser, Natick, Massachusetts
Jonathan George Winfield, Athens, Tennessee
Harrison Cody Wright, Simpsonville, South Carolina

Joseph Gibbons Clark, Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Kyle August Dietrich, Seneca, South Carolina
Alexander Formato, West Orange, New Jersey
Faustino Lucio III, Mission, Texas

Bryan Edward Crosson, Frederick, Maryland
David Summer Graham, Pinopolis, South Carolina
Robert Francis Musso, Wilton, Connecticut
Thomas Jaymes O’Brien, Chamblee, Georgia
Mitchell Lee Wetherington, Lexington, South Carolina

Adam Julian Powell, Easley, South Carolina

Robert P. Grundmeier, Houston, Texas
William Russell Piepenbring, Georgetown, South Carolina
Caleb Paul Rodgers, St. Stephen, South Carolina

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top