The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
30 Apr 2009

School of Business recognizes student and faculty leaders

New members of Beta Gamma Sigma were recently announced and two faculty members and two students were recognized with awards presented during The Citadel School of Business Administration’s Hall of Fame banquet in April. 

Beta Gamma Sigma is the honor society for business programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student can receive.

New members of Beta Gamma Sigma:

Danielle A. Barry
Peter T. Boltuch
Raymond B. Copenhaver
Matthew O. Gryder
J. Holloway Hagood
Zachary S. M. Holliday
W. Stirling MacMillan
Christopher R. McGuiness
Adam P. O’Dell
Frederic G. Petrilli
Stephan C. Socky
Josephine R. Stern
Natalie B. Wolin
Brendan D. Wonn

Melchizedech J. Cunningham
J. Joseph Sanyi III
William D. Spalding II

MBA Students
Douglas Alexander
Jennifer D. Brown
Molly B. Carr
Rachel Carr
Justin D. Davis
Lila T. Elshazly
Richard B. Fowler Jr.
Brian C. Lucier
Jacobo Mintzer
Elizabeth M. Mobley
Maria K. L. Pizarro
Brice Ricker
Paul L. Sullivan
Jennifer R. Taylor
Bryon A. Voyer

MBA Student of the Year – Alicia Lopez

Alicia Lopez was named MBA Student of the Year. The award is selected annually by faculty based on academic performance as well as participation in extracurricular activities that contribute to the graduate program. In addition to her outstanding academic record, Lopez served as the MBA Association president and as a graduate assistant in School of Business.

Lopez graduated magna cum laude from Erskine College in 2006 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology and a Bachelor of Science in business management. She was honored as a Graduate Scholar of the Year by the National Society of Hispanic MBAs. An active member of the Charleston community, Lopez represented the School of Business at education committee workshops, small business fairs, and the Chamber of Commerce Latin Business Council as a speaker, presenter and participant. Lopez is currently managing Floyd Fencing, a Lowcountry business that she owns with her fiancé.

MBA Professor of the Year – Tim Keogh

Capt. Tim Keogh was voted the MBA Professor of the Year by students in the graduate school. Keogh, who has been teaching communication for leadership since 2006, is a native of Charleston. For 20 years Keogh taught management communication at Tulane University, first at the Freeman School of Business, where he directed the international MBA language orientation program, and then in the Tulane School of public health and tropical medicine, where he directed the health systems management program.

Keogh received his doctorate from Louisiana State University in English with concentrations in linguistics and technical communication. He also received a Fulbright grant for graduate study in the humanities at the University of Strasbourg, France. Formerly a linguist in Army intelligence, he received a diploma in modern standard Arabic from the Defense Language Institute. In addition to teaching at The Citadel and serving as the MBA Association faculty advisor, he lectures on communication and physician performance topics for the American College of Physician Executives, the American College of Healthcare Executives and the Society of Hospital Medicine.

Wall Street Journal Award – Dru Rushing

Cadet Dru Rushing, a senior from Ridgeway, S.C., has been selected as this year’s recipient of the Wall Street Journal Award. The award is presented every year by the business faculty to the most outstanding graduating senior in the School of Business Administration. Rushing, who has a 3.93 GPR, studied abroad for a semester, completed two internships, and served as a spokesperson for the School of Business Mentors Association. He also served as the president of the finance and investment club.

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching – Mark Bebensee

Mark Bebensee, professor and associate dean of the School of Business, received the first ever Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award, an award voted on by graduating seniors. Bebensee earned his undergraduate degree from Millsaps College and his master’s and doctorate from Duke University. In his 32-year career at The Citadel, Bebensee has served as assistant dean of undergraduate studies for seven years, head of the department of business administration for 12 years, and associate dean of business administration for eight years. His awards include the Palmetto Medal, the Grimsley Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching and the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award. In 2004, a scholarship was established in his honor by Dan and Nancy Kohl, and in 2005, The Citadel Alumni Association named him an honorary lifetime member of the association, making him only the second non-alumnus faculty member ever to receive that recognition. Bebensee was recently appointed associate provost for academic affairs.

In addition to his duties in the School of Business, Bebensee also served as The Citadel’s chapel organist for many years where he still plays for weddings, the Christmas Candlelight Program, and other official college functions.

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top