The Citadel

The Military College of South Carolina

give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

News & Events

Upcoming Events



On September 15, 2012 the Psychology Department hosted its inaugural "N.E.R.D. Day" (Networking, Ethics, and Research Day) at Buyer Auditorium in Mark Clark Hall.  Among the highlights of the event was Darkness to Light training for undergraduate and graduate students in psychology, as well as department faculty.

nerd day 1

Darkness to Light training

nerd day 2

Darkness to Light breakout session

In February, our own Dr. Conway Saylor was named the Governor's 2012 Professor of the Year for four year colleges and universities by the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education.  Congratulations, Dr. Saylor!

At the annual meeting of the Southeastern Psychological Association in New Orleans, LA (Feb. 15-18), senior Psychology major Manuel Carmago was awarded first place in the CEPO Undergraduate Research Competition.  Congratulations, Manuel!

manuel w award - sepa 2012

Manuel Carmago

On February 15-18, a number of undergraduate as well as graduate students presented their research at the annual meeting of the Southeastern Psychological Association in New Orleans, LA.

 undergraduate group photo - sepa 2012

(Left to right) Rochelle Bennett, Melissa Myers, Rebecca Walls, Christopher Garcia, Manuel Carmago

kenny paper pres - sepa 2012

Kristina Kenny

On February 21-24, The Citadel's School Psychology program was well represented at the annual meeting of the National Association of School Psychologists in Philadelphia, PA.  A total of seven current students presented their research, with topics including bullying, social-emotional learning, and school psychological practices in the areas of autism and the identification of emotional disturbance.

Students who presented their research at NASP appear below: 

buchanan  stewart - nasp 2012

(Left to right): Bailey Buchanan and Sterling Stewart

fernald hanchon et al - nasp 2012

(Left to right): Bailey Buchanan, Dr. Lori Fernald, Melissa-Miles Dunn, Sterling Stewart, Dr. Tim Hanchon

glover-nasp 2012

Suzannah Glover

hanchon saylor dunn - nasp 2012

(Left to right): Melissa-Miles Dunn, Dr. Conway Saylor, Dr. Tim Hanchon

patrick - nasp 2012

Program alumna Estelle Patrick

rogers - nasp 2012

Trisha Rogers

Back to Top