The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
24 Apr 2009

Campus chapter of Phi Kappa Phi honors student achievement

The Citadel chapter of national cross-disciplinary honor society Phi Kappa Phi commemorated its 30th anniversary by inducting 33 undergraduates, 21 graduate students, three faculty members, and a distinguished alumnus. A reception in honor of the initiates followed the ceremony on April 19.


Eligible for induction were seniors in the top 8 percent of their class, second-semester juniors in the top 7.5 percent and graduate students posting a perfect 4.0 grade point average after 30 credit hours in their degree program. 

Librarian Elizabeth Connor, associate professor of Spanish Héctor Eloy Urroz, and assistant professor of biology John D. Zardus were the faculty members welcomed to membership.

Marine Corps Brig. Gen. Kenneth F. McKenzie, Jr., Class of 1979, was named distinguished alumnus. McKenzie is a member of the faculty at Virginia Military Institute. He will deploy to Kabul, Afghanistan in May.

John M. Alexander, Class of 2003, auditor with Exxon Mobil Corp. received the chapter's distinguished Service Award for establishing a summer scholarship for students of German.

The undergraduate inductees were:

• Fahad Abdulaziz AlBinali
• Bader Farooq Omar Alduaini
• Joshua Michael Bergeron
• Brian Daniel Burnley
• Kaitlyn Elizabeth Burns
• Stephanie Alexandra Byham
• Brian Andrew Caniano
• Robert Wayne Clark
• Jennifer N. Daniel.
• Melissa Marie Elizabeth Florido.
• Kai Hsiao 
• Zachary Sean McMurray Holliday
• Zachary Scott Ives
• Stanley Hampton Kablick
• Ryan Nathanial Keiper
• Paul James Kelly IV
• Noah Justin Koubenec
• Anthony Travis Maldonado 
• Lana J. Moore
• Mohamed Khalil Nass
• Joshua Michael Olson
• Ashley R. Petersen
• Michael Raymond Pierce
• Harrison Lanier Plunkett
• William Christopher Reneau
• Adam Kevin Riley (posthumously)
• Michael Joseph Rowland Jr.
• Mario Alberto Sias, Jr.
• William Austin Spalding II
• James N. Turner
• Daniel Joseph Walters
• Phillip Charles Westbrook
• Charles J. Williams III

Graduate student inductees were:

• Amanda Marie Aguirre
• Rachel E. Carr
• Sarah Elizabeth Coyne
• Chandler Bryant Dabit
• Sarah Rose Deyhle
• Jaime Gouin
• Joseph Robert Jutzi
• Cynthia S. Leal
• Alice Bickley Light
• Tammy P. Masopust
• Sharon B. Pitts
• Bethany Eve Rielly
• Susan Ann Risler
• Dawn Marie Simonsen
• Karen Lynn Springmeyer
• Paul Louis Sullivan
• Stacy Aaron Turner
• Meghan Braidish Uram
• Maribeth Lyndsey Veal
• Kimberly Lynn Veronee
• Delaney Batson White

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top