The Military College of South Carolina Dare to Lead

Info Academics Admissions Alumni Cadet Life Graduate College Evening Undergrad Athletics Connect Giving
Close this window

Giving to The Citadel

  • The Citadel Foundation
  • Blueprint
  • The Citadel Brigadier Foundation

Scott Buchanan, associate professor of political science, has been named to the editorial team of the "American Review of Politics." He joins professors from the University of Oklahoma and the University of Georgia on the editorial board. Buchanan has served as guest editor in previous years.

Catherine Burton, associate professor of criminal justice, is co-author of an American Journal of Criminal Justice article examining the National Rifle Association's proposal to place armed guards in every U.S. school. "The Only Thing That Stops a Guy with a Bad Policy is a Guy with a Good Policy: An Examination of the NRA's 'National School Shield' Proposal" appears in the March issue.

School of Business Professor Cynthia Bolt will receive a research award for her forthcoming publication, "Developments in accounting regulation: A synthesis and annotated bibliography of evidence and commentary in the 2010 academic literature" in Research in Accounting Regulation.

emma bennett2

Emma Bennett-Williams, equal employment officer and Title IX coordinator in Human Resources, has been named one of the Charleston Regional Business Journal's Forty under 40 for 2013. The annual awards recognize the success and community involvement of 40 professionals under 40 who are making their mark on the region from a swath of industry and professional sectors.

Charles Skipper, visiting professor of engineering, has been invited by the National Science Foundation to serve as a panelist for its Graduate Research Fellowship Program, which reviews scholarship awards for the nation's top graduate students. In addition to teaching, Skipper is director of the School of Engineering's graduate and professional studies division.

jack rhodes thumbnail

Jack Rhodes, founder and director of the Honors Program, has been named a fellow of the National Collegiate Honors Council. The rare designation recognizes teaching, research, scholarship and commitment to honors education. NCHC is the professional association of undergraduate honors programs and colleges; honors directors and deans; and honors faculty, staff, and students.

Elizabeth Connor, Daniel Library associate professor, will release her book "Strategic Planning: A Practical Guide for Librarians" in late 2013. The book is a guide for library school students, entry-level librarians and mid-career librarians interested in leadership roles and will provide tools to move their organizations forward through reflection, coalition building and effective planning documents. Connor's previous publications include numerous book reviews, 10 peer-reviewed journal articles, three book chapters and several edited books.

A research paper written by faculty and staff members Tammy Graham (lead author), Jane Warner, Col. Charles Graham and Stephenie Hewett was selected as the best paper by the American Institute of Higher Education. "Perceptions and Practices: The Impact of Military Structure on the Academic Success of Students with Disabilities Attending a Military College" was chosen from more than 40 submissions and will be published in the American Journal of Educational Studies.

The MA in Clinical Counseling/Psychology has received 10-year accreditation from the Masters in Psychology and Counseling Accreditation Council. The continuing accreditation recognizes excellence in academics, faculty, curriculum, placement and graduates within the program's mission of producing masters-level clinical counselors who serve primarily in public mental health agencies in the Lowcountry.

George T. Williams, professor and coordinator of counselor education programs in the School of Education, appears in the September "Community Spotlight" of the S.C. Clinical and Translational Research Institute's Community Engagement e-Newsletter.

bright head shot releaseNancy Bright, CGC '05, deputy director of auxiliary enterprises, has been selected as one of 51 members of the Leadership South Carolina Class of 2013. The nine-month program was created in 1970 to give gifted and highly motivated South Carolinians an opportunity to advance their leadership skills while broadening their understanding of issues facing the state.

Carl Betterton, assistant professor of business, represented the college's chapter of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi at its 2012 biennial convention in St. Louis, Mo., Aug. 10-11. Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Betterton is president-elect of The Citadel's chapter and currently serves as secretary. He attended the convention as the chapter's voting delegate.

English Professor Scott Lucas has received a contract from Cambridge University Press for a 450-page edition of "Mirror for Magistrates," a collection of English poems from the Tudor period. Lucas' edition will be the first edition of this work since Lily Bess Campbell's 1930s edition. Campbell was one of the 20th Century's most distinguished scholars of British Renaissance literature.

Several new faculty members join us this year. Education: Guy Ilagan; History: Paul Johnston, Library: David Goble; Math and Computer Science: Rigoberto Florez; Modern Language-French: Caroline Strobbe; Criminal Justice: Brian Norris and Matthew Zommer; School of Business: Serhiy Ponomarov and Russell Sobel; School of Science and Math: Lok C Lew Yan Voon; HESS: Elizabeth Hittinger and Michelle Richardson. Welcome!

South Carolina Professor of the Year Conway Saylor is the recipient of a national Phi Kappa Phi literacy grant. Through a collaborative effort with James Simons Elementary School, the grant will be used to establish a community-based literacy program titled "Young Authors."

Professor Joseph P. Renouard in the History Department received a Franklin Research Grant from the American Philosophical Society. It will be used for his project on the international genocide treaty (working title: "The Strange Career of the Genocide Convention, 1945-2012").

Professor Katya Skow-Obenaus in the Department of Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures, was recognized with the Brawley Award for outstanding contributions to the college and School of Humanities and Social Sciences. The award is named for Wallace W. Brawley Jr., Class of 1962.