The Citadel

The Military College of South Carolina

give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service

For Release
Feb.15, 2005

 Citadel board announces presidential search committee

           The committee tasked with finding the next president of The Citadel includes some well-known alumni in the worlds of business, government and the military. According to Billy Jenkinson, chairman of The Citadel Board of Visitors, the 12-member committee will hold an organizational meeting and elect a chairman by the end of this month.

           Jenkinson, who will serve as an ex-officio member of the search committee, announced the following as members of the search committee:

  • Senator Ernest F. Hollings, Class of 1942, former South Carolina governor and U.S. senator from 1966 until 2004;
  • John Baker, Class of 1950, president of The Citadel Alumni Association, member of The Citadel Board of Visitors and retired president and CEO of L&W Supply Corporation, a subsidiary of USG Corporation;
  • Dr. John Palms, Class of 1958, former president of the University of South Carolina and of Georgia State University;
  • L. William Krause, Class of 1963, chairman of The Citadel Foundation Board of Directors, president of LWK Ventures, a private investment firm, and retired chairman and CEO of 3Com;
  • General William W. Hartzog, USA (Ret.) Class of 1963, former commanding general, Army Training & Doctrine Command, and president/CEO of Burdeshaw Associates, Ltd.;
  • William B. Sansom, Class of 1964, Chairman and CEO of The H.T. Hackney Company and former member of the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees;
  • Dudley Saleeby, Jr., Class of 1966, member of The Citadel Board of Visitors, chairman of the board’s strategic planning committee and former solicitor of the 12th Judicial Circuit and currently an adviser to the Office of the Solicitor for the 3rd Judicial Circuit;
  • Charles B. Coe, Class of 1973, vice chair of The Citadel Foundation Board of Directors and retired president of Network Services, Bellsouth;
  • Douglas A. Snyder, Class of 1982, vice chairman of The Citadel Board of Visitors, chairman of the board’s finance committee and partner with Barb, Snyder & Company;
  • John R. "Jack" Douglas, Class of 1992, member of The Citadel Board of Visitors and mortgage banker with First Citizens Bank;
  • Allison Dean Love, CGPS Class of 1993, member of The Citadel Board of Visitors, chair of the board’s education committee, and executive director of the South Carolina Insurance News Service;
  • Dr. Mark Bebensee, associate dean of The Citadel School of Business and member of The Citadel faculty for 28 years.

           Anyone with nominations, suggestions or comments may send them in writing to the Presidential Search Committee, MSC 108, The Citadel, 171 Moultrie Street, Charleston, SC 29409-0108 or send email to



Back to Top