The Citadel

The Military College of South Carolina

give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service

For Release
April 27, 2005

Phi Kappa Phi inductes 72 new members


           The Citadel Chapter of the National Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi celebrated its 26th anniversary by initiating 72 new members on Sunday, April 24 in Summerall Chapel. Charter members, past presidents and distinguished alumni were recognized. Lt. Col. John S. Carter has
served as president for two years. Gen. Donald A. Steven, provost and dean of the college, spoke at the banquet, which was held in the Holliday Alumni Center.

           Allison Dean Love, MBA, College of Graduate and Professional Studies, Class of 1993, and Douglas A. Snyder, Class of 1982, were recognized as distinguished alumni. Both are members of
The Citadel Board of Visitors. William Arthur Moody, Jr., Class of 1965, founding vice chair, Advisory Board, School of Business Administration, was honored with a Distinguished Service Award.

           In addition to Gen. Steven, new faculty members include Maj. Elizabeth W. Carter, professor of Library Science; Lt. Col. John I. Moore, Jr., professor and departmetn head, Mathematics & Computer Science

           Ten graduate students from the College of Graduate and Professional Studies were recognized for their straight-A achievement. They are:

Celina Ponce Anthony M.Ed., Educational Leadership
Creighton Eddings M.Ed., Counselor Education
Charlene Marie Gunnells MAE, Social Sciences
Tristan Eaddy Mahaffey M.Ed., Reading Education
John W. Myers IV MBA, School of Business Administration
Laurence C. Neely M.A. Biology
Dawn Marie Smith M.Ed., Educational Leadership
Brian Garrett Walker M.Ed., Educational Leadership
Margaret Hudson Ward MAEd., Secondary Education/Mathematics
Lisa Yu-nung Wu M.A.T., Secondary Education/English

           Undergraduate membership is limited to the top 8 percent of the senior class and the top 7.5 percent of the junior class. Undergraduate students include cadets, students from the Marine Enlisted Commissioning Program, the Naval Seaman to Admiral 21 Program and evening undergraduate students from the College of Graduate and Professional Studies.

           The fifty-six undergraduates initiated were

Andrew James Armstrong Biology
Thomas Benjamin Bailey Business Administration
Matthew Gerard Bartomeo Electrical & Computer Engineering
Steven Arthur Baxter Computer Science
John Henry Bergmans Political Science
Matthew T. Berry Physics
Carlos-Jose Reyes Bersabe Political Science-International Politics
Tommy A. Broach Jr. Business Administration
John Jeremy Brothers Political Science
W. Russell Campbell, Jr.
Business Administration
James Bowman Canady Business Administration
Mark Edward Coyne Computer Science
Aaron A. Daley Criminal Justice
Marina Josephine Daniel Business Administration/Accounting
John W. Dennis III Physics
Thomas Daniell Deevil Dotstry Electrical & Computer Engineering
Nelson E. Dove Civil & Environmental Engineering
Matthew Ernest Dryden Political Science (International Politics)
Christopher James Eaves Business Administration
Matthew Patrick Elliott Biology
Allen Michael Ferkovich Political Science
Patrick John Foehl Criminal Justice
Joel D. Funk Political Science/German
Thomas David Hallam Civil & Environmental Engineering
Seth Thomas Hooper Electrical & Computer Engineering
Gary Robert Jaffe Business Administration
Leslie Allen Jarvis Computer Science
Pongsakorn Kaewkornmaung Civil & Environmental Engineering/Physics
Michael Kelly English
Nicholas Medica II Business Administration/Accounting
Richard T. Miller Jr. Business Administration/Accounting
Alexander Mangu Monte History
Ryan David Moody Business Administration
Daxton Hilliard Moore Political Science
Brian C. Morris History
Christopher Joseph Nastal Political Science
Kyle Newell O'Donohoe History
Carter Lee Palmer History
Dana Lynn Parker Business Administration/Marketing
Timothy Scott Perkins Civil & Environmental Engineering
Boyd Pritchard Chemistry
Marc Quesenberry Civil & Environmental Engineering
Mark D. Rainwater Electrical & Computer Engineering
Audra L. Ritchie Business Administration
Javier Roman
Business Administration
Shane Michael Ruppert Electrical & Computer Engineering
Richard Lee Sanford Electrical & Computer Engineering
Joseph A. Siegel Biology
Alan Brooks Thiele Business Administration
Joshua Richard Underwood History
Nicholas Jon Van Dyke Physics
Christopher R. Weil Electrical & Computer Engineering/Physics
Susan E. Wilcox Business Administration
Sarah Blackburn Williford Business Administration
James Wofford Wise, Jr. Business Administration/Accounting
Andre Wolf Electrical & Computer Engineering.

           Graduating senior, Cadet Raymond Richard Foltz, received the 2005 Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship Award worth $5,000.00. He was one of 60 students selected in the national competition. Foltz plans to enter the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in the fall to study structural engineering.

           The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 at the University of Maine. The Society draws its members from all academic disciplines within colleges and universities. Each year, approximately 34,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni are initiated. There are chapters on more than 295 campuses in the United States,
Puerto Rico and the Phillipines.




Back to Top