The Citadel

The Military College of South Carolina

give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service

For Release
April 29, 2005

Students, professor to be honored at CGPS commencement 

           The Citadel's College of Graduate and Professional Studies will honor four students and a professor for outstanding academic achievement and scholarship and teaching during commencement exercises Sunday, May 1.

           About 18 evening undergraduate and 232 graduate students have completed degrees this year or will complete them this summer. Of those, about 150 students will take part in the commencement service, which begins at 2 p.m. in McAlister Field House.

           The Honorable Alex M. Sanders, former lawmaker and College of Charleston president, will deliver the commencement address. Sanders currently serves as chairman of the board of the Charleston School of Law and as president emeritus of the College of Charleston where he teaches. Sanders will receive an honorary doctorate of humanities from The Citadel's College of Graduate and Professional Studies.

           Awards to be presented and the recipients are:
           Charles E. Hirshey Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching Education
           -- Jillian Louise Gregory of Charleston. Master of Arts in Teaching (Secondary Math)
           -- Gerilyn Graham Leland of McClellanville. Mater of Arts in Teaching (Secondary Social            Studies.

           The Hirshey award is given in honor of Dr. Charles Hirshey who served as head of education from 1969 to 1979. Hirshey was a pioneer in graduate education in the Lowcountry and a founding member of CGPS.

           Aline Mahan Award
           -- Jana Letha McElveen of Johns Island. Educational Specialist in School Psychology.

           The Mahan award recognizes outstanding scholarship, technical skill and community service. The award is in memory of Aline Mahan, the late faculty emerita, a driving force behind the creation of the college's psychology program. In 1974, Mahan was the first female professor at The Citadel.

           The MBA Student of the Year award is presented to a graduate student who has performed with excellence in all required MBA coursework, has demonstrated outstanding leadership among his or her peers, and has acted with integrity and moral soundness while attending The Citadel.

           This year's MBA Student of the Year is Rick Farrell of Mount Pleasant. Farrell is president and owner of Carolina Heating Products.

           Each year the MBA Association asks MBA students to nominate and vote on the business faculty member they think has had the most positive impact on their graduate education. This year's MBA Professor of the Year is J. Michael Alford of The Citadel School of Business.

           Alford, U.S. Air Force retired, is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, University of Oklahoma and University of Georgia. He teaches graduate and undergraduate course in small business management and entrepreneurship, ethics, operations management and strategic management. He developed the New Venture Planning Competition for undergraduates.

           Founded in 1966 as the co-educational Evening College, the College of Graduate and Professional Studies offers 22 graduate programs and three undergraduate programs. Today, CGPS has more than 6,000 alumni and about 2,000 students enrolled in its programs.


Return to commencement home page


Back to Top