The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service

For Release
November 30, 2003

Carroll LeTellier '49 receives national recognition

NAE inductee Carroll LeTellier, Class of 1949

Carroll LeTellier was recently inducted into the National Academy of Engineering, earning one of engineering's highest professional awards. The NAE recognizes those who have made significant contributions to engineering and has only 212 members and 20 foreign associates in the civil engineering section.

LeTellier was inducted in ceremonies in Washington, D.C. in October.

LeTellier was involved in the early design phases for the new Cooper River Bridge. Other significant projects he helped lead include the design and building of the Tennessee Tombigbee Waterway, the Fort McHenry Tunnel in Baltimore, Locks and Dam 26 on the Mississippi, and multimillion dollar improvements to the physical and technical security of 44 U.S. embassies worldwide.

A 1949 graduate of The Citadel, LeTellier served for 27 years with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. He then joined Sverdrup Corporation as vice president where he served for 25 years until his retirement in 2001.

The NAE cited LeTellier for "leadership in the planning, design and construction of major infrastructure and military facilities that meet and serve the highest societal values."

LeTellier is the third civil engineering graduate from The Citadel to be inducted into membership since the NAE was founded in 1964 according to Dennis Fallon, dean of engineering at The Citadel. Other Citadel inductees include Charleston native Gene Figg, a 1953 graduate who headed the Figg Engineering Group in Tallahassee and William Marcuson, III, a 1963 graduate and internationally recognized geotechnical engineer.

LeTellier has had a lifelong connection with engineering and The Citadel. His father, Louis S. LeTellier, was head of The Citadel's civil engineering department for many years and served as acting president of the college after the retirement of General Charles P. Summerall in 1953 until the arrival of General Mark Clark in 1954.



Back to Top