The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service

For Release
March 11, 2003

Members of 2004 Summerall Guards named

          Sixty-three rising seniors have been selected to make up the 2004 Summerall Guards, the precision drill platoon at The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina. Their first performance is scheduled March 15 during Corps Day festivities.

          Each spring, rising seniors are selected by the outgoing guards for their physical stamina and drill proficiency. Membership in the platoon is considered a high honor at the college. The platoon's purpose is to exemplify, through a unique series of movements based on the old German close order drill and performed to a silent count, the exactness and thoroughness with which The Citadel cadet is trained.

          The platoon is named for General Charles P. Summerall, former Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army and president of The Citadel from 1931 until 1953.

          Members for 2004 are:

          Jordan R. Barnett, Fort Wayne, Ind.
          Andrew F. Benko, Lancaster, Pa.
          Hernaldo A. Bolanos, Pittsburg, Calif.
          Michael J. Campbell, Columbia, S.C.
          Phillip J. Chandler, Charleston, S.C.
          Brantley W. Cope, Gaston, S.C.
          Bart C. Coursey, Lewisburg, Ky.
          Jonathan S. D'Angelo, Hollywood, Fla.
          James R. Davis, Mt. Holly, N.C.
          Matthew R. Eiden, Chantilly, Va.
          Mark L. Evans, Plano, Texas
          Ian C. Felty, Virginia Beach, Va.
          Jonathan L. Fillman, Alpharetta, Ga.
          Brian J. Fischesser, Lake Park, Fla.
          Andrew L. Ghiglieri, Chesterfield, Mo.
          George A. Gray, Lake Toxaway, N.C.
          Jayinder S. Grewal, Tracy, Calif.
          Ryan P. Hall, Colorado Springs, Colo.
          Joe H. Han, Shoreline, Wash.
          Corey C. Heller, Bridgewater, N.J.
          Brandon S. Higashi, Warrenville, Ill.
          Jonathan K. Houser, Birmingham, Ala.
          Jonathan A. Hulecki, Columbia, S.C.
          Robert C. Humphrey, Livermore, Calif.
          John A. Ingham, Evans, Ga.
          Justin A. Katko, Elmore, Ohio
          Mamadi P. Keita, Columbia, S.C.
          James A. Kennedy, Houston, Texas
          Timothy W. Lawson, Livonia, Mich.
          Antonio E. Leone, Charleston, S.C.
          Matthew R. Mayer, Lexington, S.C.
          Philip T. Medico, Coral Springs, Fla.
          Sean A. Merritt, Charleston, S.C.
          Mark D. Mizzell, Charleston, S.C.
          Brian J. Moroney, Summerville, S.C.
          William E. Myrick, Barnwell, S.C.
          Le T. Nguyen, Shrewsbury, Mass.
          Tin T. Nguyen, Shrewsbury, Mass.
          Gary L. Nipper, Orangeburg, S.C.
          Javier A. Ochoa, Elmhurst, N.Y.
          Kevin M. O'Donnell, Carnegie, Pa.
          Brian E. Owens, Marietta, Ga.
          Brett A. Paduch, Johnson City, Tenn.
          Adam F. Perlin, Lake Arrowhead, Calif.
          Sean L. Piper, Travelers Rest, S.C.
          Ronald M. Piramide, Carson, Calif.
          Thomas Rachelski, Clifton, N.J.
          Patrick C. Reilly, Boston, N.Y.
          Kirk D. Rhodes, Columbia, S.C.
          Erik J. Ricketson, Lutherville Timon, Md.
          Bryan E. Riddle, Annapolis, Md.
          Michael W. Roder, Stony Creek, N.Y.
          Richard D. Salmon, Bergenfield, N.J.
          Philip D. Schneider, Falmouth, Mass.
          Jeremy D. Shute, Quinton, N.J.
          Eric J. Sulser, Sumter, S.C.           
          James A. Sumler, Marietta, Ga.
          Joseph A. Tokar, Beaufort, S.C.
          Peter M. Valiquette, Greenville, S.C.
          Justin E. Veirs, Darnestown, Md.


Back to Top