The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service

For Release
May 14, 2002

Phi Kappa Phi inducts 43 at The Citadel

          The Citadel Chapter of the national academic honor society of Phi Kappa Phi celebrated its 23rd anniversary this spring by initiating 43 new members.

          Undergraduate student membership--cadets, enlisted military students and evening students--is limited to the top 8 percent of the senior class and the top 4 percent of the junior class. Graduate students must have met the same criteria and have a straight-A average in their graduate studies.

          In addition to inducting both graduate and undergraduate students, banquet speaker James Oliver Rigney (aka writer Robert Jordan), Class of 1974, was initiated as a distinguished alumnus and L. William Krause, Class of 1963, received a Distinguished Service Award.

          Dr. A. Wayne Lacy, Phi Kappa Phi southeastern regional vice president, presented certificates to the inductees. Graduate students who were recognized were:

Katherine S. Hudson, Master of Arts in Teaching - English, Charleston

Angela Renae Ropers, Master of Arts in Teaching - Secondary Education, Mathematics, Mount Pleasant

Susan Owens Upchurch, Master of Education - Secondary Administration, Charleston

Nelson Keith Yates, Master of Arts in Education - Biology, Moncks Corner

          Undergraduate inductees were:

Timothy William Stoner Anderson, Political Science/English/Spanish, Irmo, S.C.

Avery Lee Buchholz, Biology, Janesville, Wisc.

Rudolph Clark Cooper, Education (Biology), Lexington, S.C.

Fredric B. Duffy, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Summerville, S.C.

Timothy Robert Ferguson, Political Science, Chapel Hill, N.C.

Michael Wayne Glenn, International Politics, Troutdale, Ore.

Robert Crafts Graham, English, Sarasota, Fla.

Wittaya Innakkool, Computer Science/Electrical Engineering, Phitsanulok, Thailand

Christopher Michael Johnson, Criminal Justice, North Charleston, S.C.

Jason Roswell Kennickell, Business Administration, Savannah, Ga.

Franklin Thomas Llaneza, Business Administration (Accounting), Florence, S.C.

Nickolay Peter Markov II, Biology, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Wilson Oliver McMichael Jr., Civil & Environmental Engineering, Charleston, S.C.

Michael Kenny McNeal, Physical Education (Exercise Science), Goose Creek, S.C.

Michael Keith Mishoe, Physical Education (Teaching), Charleston, S.C.

Michael Rembert Motley, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Charleston, S.C.

Randall L. Nickel Jr., Business Administration, Goose Creek, S.C.

Albert D. Oliphant IV, Biology, Rock Hill, S.C.

Timothy Lee Parker, Civil & Environmental Engineering, North Charleston, S.C.

Jonathan D. Patton, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Lexington, S.C.

Walter Hamilton Peters IV, Biology, Lexington, S.C.

Brandon Clark Race, Physics, Austin, Texas

Davis LeRoy Reames IV, Biology; Sumter, S.C.

Robert A. Redmond III, Biology, North Charleston, S.C.

Mark Alan Suthard, Business Administration, Raleigh, N.C.

Joshua Alexander Tacket, Criminal Justice, Powhatan, Va.

Ryan J. Thresher, Education (Social Studies), Goose Creek, S.C.

Justin C. Tobias, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Virginia Beach, Va.

Joshua B. Van Etten, Psychology, Riverview, Fla.

Harvey MacLure Watson III, Political Science, Columbia, S.C.

Joshua Adam Wells, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Cary, N.C.

Adam Len Whitsett, History, Loretto, Tenn.

          Senior Matthew James Belcher (German/Political Science) of Lillian, Ala., was named The Citadel Chapter's recipient of the 2002 National Award, an $8,000.00 graduate fellowship. He also received a life membership in Phi Kappa Phi. A special chapter award was presented to senior Thomas Austin Eckles (Civil & Environmental Engineering) of Spartanburg, S.C.

          Faculty inductees were Edward B. Davis, Political Science; Mark P. Del Mastro, Modern Languages; Gardel M. Feurtado, Political Science; and Russell H. Stout, Jr., Civil & Environmental Engineering.


Back to Top