Whaley Memorial Garden Tour set for March 10
annual Emily Whaley Memorial Garden Tour will capture a unique Charleston
neighborhood in the beautiful, early new green of spring, when the good
bones of well-designed gardens are evident.
features 10 gardens in Ansonborough, including a Japanese enclave, a swimming
pool grotto, and an exquisite water parterre. Garden experts will lead
each tour. The tour is designed for everyone interested in gardening as
well as those who want to learn more about the unique architecture and
history of Charleston.
begins at 1 p.m. Sunday, March 10, at St. Stephens Episcopal Church with
a spiritual concert and concludes at 4:30 p.m. with a reception in the
notable garden of Peter and Patty McGee. The cost is $50. Reservations
are required no later than March 4. Call 843-953-7691.
is an historic and venerable neighborhood. Dating from 1746, this first
suburb of Charleston began as a 64-acre tract owned and developed by George
Anson. The 18th century borough was home to merchants, tradesmen
and a few planters. About 1,000 dwellings were burned in the fire of 1838.
Rebuilt in brick, the area was home to a significant German population
and included two Lutheran Churches and a German Catholic Church. In 1958,
Historic Charleston targeted this area for its first revolving fund and
more than 135 antebellum houses were restored. Today the area is a much-prized
neighborhood for its quiet streets and lovely gardens. Many of the gardens
are of recent design by landscape architect Sheila Wertimer. Her gardens
are serene enclaves or garden "rooms" where the sound of cascading
water helps create a feeling of intimacy.
begins at St. Stephens Episcopal Church, 67 Anson St., with a gospel
concert by noted spiritual singer, Don White. St. Stephens, built in
1835 by John and Henry Horlbeck, has a simple interior with a barrel-vaulted
ceiling. The facade is classical, with an arched center doorway surmounted
by a tablet with flanking stucco recesses interspersed by Tuscan pilasters.
Tour groups will disperse from this spot, each group going to a different
the tour are:
- 72 Anson
St., constructed in 1846 is a three-and-a-half-story brick house of
the side-hall and double-parlor plan. The garden is rich with horticultural
variety, creating an interesting microclimate of its own. The owners,
Peter and Patty McGee restored the house and garden in 1994 creating
a space that is a much-used extension of the house. Refreshments are
provided here for your pleasure while you tour the garden.
- 71 Anson
St. is known as the Thomas Doughty House and dates from 1806. Enjoy
the newly landscaped garden in the front. Walk back along the drive
to the garden of Sue Wallace, our special host. The original slave quarters
and kitchen building have been combined into a single residence. The
containers of herbs add a pungent scent to the air.
- 89 Anson
St. is the St. Johns Reformed Episcopal Church. This gothic church
was constructed in the 1850s as a church for slave and free black Presbyterians.
The garden in back of the church was dedicated in 1991 in honor of Philip
Simmons, renowned African American ironworker and member of the congregation.
The charming parterres provide a strong backbone to this quiet church
- 42 Anson
St. with its wonderful double gardens is a relatively new house. Walk
through the arched gate into two elegantly designed parterres. Facing
south, these garden "hot" spots allow the owners the luxury
of a great variety of fall and spring plants. The Japanese garden to
the rear of the house is an enchanting enclave of bamboo and maple.
- 40 and
42 Society St. are known as the Juliana Dupre Houses. 40 Society St.
was constructed in 1850 within the walls of the original 1838 house.
This small garden is lush with a variety of established plants including
sweet olives and camellias. The small pool interacts with the living
spaces. 42 Society St. has a large and attractively laid out garden
encompassing the entire expansive side lot.
- 62 Society
St., the Hieronymus-Tiedeman House was constructed in 1838-40 after
the great fire. The house is unusual in that it has a masked side porch
that is shaded from the street. The walk back to the garden and saline
pool is a pleasing shaded avenue. The sunny pool grotto is rich with
architectural emblems. This unique city pool is an example of craftsmanship,
well integrated into a garden living room.
- Walk past
St. Johannes Lutheran Church built by Edward Brickell White in 1842
in the Greek Revival style. You will also go by 54 Hasell St., the Col.
William Rhett House built in 1712 by Rhett who was known for the capture
and prosecution of the pirate, Stede Bonnet. View the Umberto Innocenti
designed garden through the iron gates.
- The garden
and house at 60 Hasell St. are unique in this neighborhood. Constructed
in 1847 the antebellum house is an Italianate style villa with twin
Tucson towers. The flanking brick outbuildings provide a surrounding
forecourt for the wonderful water parterre. The splendid water garden
includes a thriving population if fish, water lilies, papyrus plants
and lotus. The hollies used as a hedge enclose the garden for privacy.
- 4 George
St., the James W. Brown House, was constructed in 1852 in the Greek
Revival style. Note the use of scored red mortar between the bricks.
Approach the garden along the driveway. Designed by Sheila Wertimer,
the garden functions as a "party" room for the house. Italian
cypress act as focal points and as a boundary for the central grassed
- The house
and garden at 57 Laurens St. date from 1836. The house is of black cypress
and shows early-Greek Revival elements. Walk back to the pool that abuts
a three- story brick kitchen and slave quarters built after the fire
of 1838. The garden occupies an additional lot on the west and has always
been part of the property. Its simple lines complement the house.