The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service

For Release
May 21, 2001

Citadel Phi Kappa Phi celebrates 22 years with initiation

Maj. Gen. John S. Grinalds, president of The Citadel, with MECEP (Marine Corps Enlisted Commissioning Education Program) students Blanca E. Binstock and John L. Binstock.

The Citadel Chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi national honor society celebrated its 22nd anniversary in April by initiating 46 new members, including faculty, students and distinguished alumni.

Undergraduate student membership - cadets, enlisted military students and evening students - is limited to the top 8 percent of the senior class and the top 4 percent of the junior class. Graduate students must have met the same criteria and have a straight-A average in their graduate studies.

Dr. Allen W. Lacy, southeastern regional vice president, presented certificates to:

Eduardo Baldomero Almada, Business Administration, Tucson, Ariz.
Brandon Palmer Ansley, Business Administration, Lakemont, Ga.
John G. Atkins, Business Administration, Lugoff, S.C.
Chandler Parrish Atwood, Political Science, Lewisville, N.C.
Benjamin A. Baroody, English, Florence, S.C.
Matthew J. Belcher, German/Political Science, Pensacola, Fla.
Blanca E. Binstock, Computer Science/Mathematics/Spanish, Charleston, S.C.
James C. Bise, History, Charleston, S.C.
Christopher Chase Bray, Biology, Greenville, S.C.
Jeremy McLin Burr, Business Administration, Bluffton, S.C.
Michael Ross Cassidy, English, Burton, S.C.
Prakash Chanchana, Mathematics, Washington, D.C.
Jeb Stuart Scott Cleveland, Business Administration, Mount Pleasant, S.C.
Randall Stewart Corn Jr., Physical Education, Blythewood, S.C.
Gary Schon Cowart, Political Science, Charleston, S.C.
Dwight David Dempsey, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Sean Michael Dennis, Political Science, Ft. Gratiot, Mich.
Thomas Austin Eckles, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Spartanburg, S.C.
Stephen James Foland, History, Alliance, Neb.
Phillip M. George, Criminal Justice, Clarks Hill, S.C.
Curt M. Gobely, Biology, Snellville, Ga.
J Shawn Goff, Business Administration, Columbia, S.C.
Sharon K. Hacker, Biology, Tampa, Fla.
Richard Gabriel Hamlin, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Summerville, S.C.
William John Hargrove I, Business Administration, Goose Creek, S.C.
Ronald Vaughn Hatt, Computer Science, Goose Creek, S.C.
Benjamin J. Hodgins, Political Science, Bluffton, S.C.
M. Kinon Lecholop, Biology, North Charleston, S.C.
Yong J. Lee, Business Administration, Lawrenceville, Ga.
Jonathan F. Lyman, Psychology, Stone Mountain, Ga.
Eric Myles McQuade, Computer Science, Raleigh, N.C.
Lee Hauter Miller, Mathematics, LeClaire, Iowa
Joseph Paul Moore, Business Administration, Dayton, Ohio
Ryan O'Neal Parker, Biology/English, Orangeburg, S.C.
Jackson B. Pickett, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Charleston, S.C.
Anastasiya P. Smertina, Business Administration, North Charleston, S.C.
Andrew Donald St. Jean, History, Feeding Hill, Mass.
Andrew Dean Taber, Biology, Greenwood, S.C.
Harry Tashjian, IV, Political Science, West Chester, Pa.
Alexander Walden, Business Administration, Germany

Other inductees included graduate student Jane Dodd Rucker, M.Ed., Elementary School Counseling; faculty members Thomas R. Dion, civil and environmental engineering; Winfred B. Moore, Jr., history; and Laurence W. Moreland, political science and criminal justice.

Leonard C. Fulghum, Jr., Class of '51 and chairman of The Citadel Board of Visitors, and Dr. T. W. Graham Solomons, '55, were initiated as distinguished alumni. Richard W. Rieger, executive director of The Citadel Foundation, received a Distinguished Service Award.


Back to Top