The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service


For Release
May 2001

Citadel to give six honorary degrees

CHARLESTON, S.C. -- The Citadel will present six honorary doctoral degrees during 2001 commencement activities, which begin Sunday, May 6.

Honorary degree recipients this year are:

Charles P. Darby, doctor of medical sciences
Raymond S. Greenberg, doctor medical sciences
Warren F. Lasch, doctor of business administration
Joseph H. Moore, doctor of engineering
Henry W. Rittenberg, doctor of medical sciences
Elizabeth Jenkins Young, doctor of letters

Raymond S. Greenberg, president of the Medical University of South Carolina, will receive his honorary doctor of medical sciences during The Citadel's College of Graduate and Professional Studies commencement exercises, which begin at 2 p.m. Sunday, May 6 in McAlister Field House.

Dr. Greenberg, also the May 6 commencement speaker, was named president of MUSC in January 2000, after five years as vice president for academic affairs and provost. A native of Chapel Hill, N.C., Dr. Greenberg graduated from UNC in 1976. He completed his medical studies at Duke University and received a master's degree in public health from Harvard University in 1980. Dr. Greenberg trained in pediatrics at Boston Children's Hospital before returning to North Carolina to complete a doctorate in epidemiology in 1983. Afterward, he joined the Emory University faculty, where he oversaw a cancer registry in metropolitan Atlanta, was chairman of the Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology in the School of Medicine and was the first dean of the School of Public Health. The author of about 150 scientific publications, Dr. Greenberg is nationally recognized for his research on the causes of cancer, particularly cancer among African Americans.

Five honorary degree recipients will be recognized during commencement for the S.C. Corps of Cadets at 9:30 a.m. Saturday, May 12 in McAlister Field House:

Charles P. Darby Jr., Citadel class of 1955, will receive an honorary doctor of medical sciences

A Charleston native Dr. Darby has enjoyed a long and distinguished career as both a pediatrician and pediatrics professor. He earned his medical degree from the MUSC in 1959 and spent two years in pediatric training at Duke University Medical Center in Durham, N.C., before completing his residency at MUSC. After seven years in private practice, he joined the MUSC faculty in 1970 and was appointed chairman of the pediatrics department in 1982. It was under Darbys leadership that the Childrens Hospital opened in 1988 and that pediatrics at MUSC went on to become well respected in research and education. Darby, who was awarded the Order of the Palmetto by Gov. Jim Hodges in February, will retire in June as chairman of MUSC pediatrics department and as pediatrician-in-chief of MUSC Childrens Healthcare Services. He will continue as executive director of MUSC Childrens Healthcare Services.

Warren F. Lasch will receive an honorary doctor of business administration

Lasch is known as a leader in the business world, but lately his name is more often associated with the Confederate submarine, the H.L. Hunley, which sank the Union blockade ship Housatonic on Feb. 17, 1864. Lasch serves as board chairman for The Friends of the Hunley and is responsible for coordinating the recovery and restoration of the Confederate submarine, which was raised from the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean in August 2000. For his efforts he has received the state's highest honor, the Order of the Palmetto, and the Christopher Gadsden Award from the Maritime Association of the Port of Charleston.

Joseph H. Moore, a 1943 Citadel graduate, will receive an honorary doctor of engineering.

A South Carolina native, Dr. Moore is both an engineer and an educator, having taught civil engineering at The Citadel for three of his 40 years in higher education. As an educator, Dr. Moore developed research projects, launched the Capitol Campus at Pennsylvania State University and expanded faculty, staff and research capabilities in the Clemson University Civil Engineering Department. Throughout that time, Dr. Moore continued to practice structural engineering with various consulting firms so he could bring real world experiences into his classroom and to his students. A veteran of World War II, Dr. Moore has left his engineering mark on the nation's roads and bridges, from the Florida Turnpike to the Garden State Highway in New Jersey.

Henry W. Rittenberg, a 1938 Citadel graduate, will receive an honorary doctor of medicine.

A well-known local physician, Dr. Rittenberg didn't begin medical school until 14 years after graduation, spending the intervening years serving in the U.S. Army in World War II, working in business and earning a pharmacy degree from the University of South Carolina. He graduated from MUSC in 1955 at the top of his class and went on to practice family medicine with his brother in North Charleston from 1957 until his retirement in 1985. He has been active with the Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce, the Christian-Jewish Council of Charleston and was past president of the MUSC Medical Alumni Association. He is a life member of the Citadel Alumni Association and charter member of The Citadel Brigadier Foundation.

Elizabeth Jenkins Young will receive an honorary doctor of letters.

Mrs. Young is a descendant of Micah Jenkins, an 1854 Citadel graduate and Confederate general who served with distinction during the Civil War and for whom Jenkins Hall on The Citadel campus is named. Mrs. Young has been active in community improvement projects in Charleston throughout her life, especially those related to preservation of Charleston s rich heritage. She is a past president of the Junior League, the Preservation Society of Charleston and College of Charleston Alumni. She also has been a leader in cultural enrichment endeavors in the city having served on the boards of the Charleston Symphony Orchestra, the Family Service Agency, The United Fund, St. Michael's Episcopal Church and the Clean City Commission.

Earlier this year, The Citadel presented honorary degrees to Bernard Warsaw of Walterboro, Lt. General James B. Vaught of Conway, Pat Conroy of Fripp Island and Col. Thomas N. Courvoisie of Mt. Pleasant.



Back to Top