The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
17 Mar 2012

2013 Summerall Guards debut before Corps Day crowd

As part of the 169th Corps Day celebration, The Citadel introduced the 2013 Summerall Guards on Saturday, March 17, 2012.

Sixty-one rising seniors, who have gone through a rigorous physical training and initiation process, comprise the silent precision drill platoon. Members are chosen for their physical stamina and drill proficiency.

The platoon was created in 1932 and named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former chief of staff of the U.S. Army and president of The Citadel from 1931 until 1953. Its purpose is to exemplify the exactness and thoroughness with which The Citadel cadets are trained. Members come from nearly every company in the Corps. The drill, which has never been written down, is a unique series of movements based on the old German close order drill and performed to a silent count. Each year's Guards take responsibility for teaching the next year's unit the precise drill.

Following the exchange of rifles between the 2012 and 2013 Summerall Guards, the platoon presented its annual Clubb Award to Papa Company Commander Cadet Capt. Richard K. Owen of Kirtland, Ohio. Owen served as the Guard’s first sergeant. The award is presented to the member of the Summerall Guards voted by his peers as its most outstanding member. The award is named for Harold K. Clubb, Class of ’68, who died in a plane crash in 1971.

Also presented was the Anthony Griffin Sword, which is passed down from the current Summerall Guards commander to the new commander each year. Cadet Staff Sgt. Caleb T. Black of Greenville, S.C., received the sword during the rifle exchange.

Here are the members of the 2013 Summerall Guards:

1st Battalion Staff
Patrick Nugent, Rocky River, Ohio

Alpha Company
Caleb Alsup, York, S.C.
Cody Chick, Onancock, Va.
William Salley, Orangeburg, S.C.

Bravo Company
Matthew Norfleet, Texarkana, Texas

Charlie Company
Carter Elms, Manning, S.C.
Clinten Wilbur, Mechanicsville, Md. (Front Guide)

Delta Company
Matthew Garnier, Raleigh, N.C.
Richard Lee, Rock Hill, S.C.
Joseph McNeely, Easley, S.C.
Michael Sparks, Mason, Ohio

2nd Battalion Staff
Michael Hagan, Okems, Mich.

Echo Company
Esau Brown, Beaufort, S.C.
Samuel Oliver, Alloway, N.J.
Guy Perez, Branchville, N.J. (First Sergeant)

Foxtrot Company
Gerald Kelliher, Aiken, S.C.
David Kim, Johns Creek, Ga.
Andrew Metz, Burke, Va.
John Shoemaker, Fairfax, Va.

Golf Company
Matthew DeRose, Garden City, N.Y.

Hotel Company
Mark Briden, Batavia, Ill.
Sean Morrissey, Lynnfield, Mass.
John Oldengarm, Chino, Calif.

Band Company
Patrick Kolb, Summerville, S.C.
Jack Washington, Beaufort, S.C.

Regimental Staff
Michael Shore, Westover, Ala.

3rd Battalion Staff
Chad Johnson, Charlotte, N.C.

India Company
David Baxter, Macon, Ga.
Elliot Dodds, Belton, S.C.
Cameron McCarley, Anderson, S.C. (Supply Sergeant)

Kilo Company
Harrison Goluses, Pittsford, N.Y.

Lima Company
Enio Aguero, Annandale, Va. (Rear Guide)
Wesley Ballinger, Warrenton, N.C.
John Ditto, Lexington, Ky.
George Holstead, Irmo, S.C.
Robert Mundy, Clermont, Fla.
James Rhodes, Roswell, Ga.
Don Simmons, Easley, S.C.

4th Battalion Staff
Casey Stabile, Newton, N.J.

Oscar Company
Michael Singer, Goose Creek, S.C.

November Company
Corey Hall, Columbia, S.C.
Damon Gialenios, Charlotte, N.C.
John Psomas, Greenwood, S.C.

Romeo Company
Scott Graves, Lexington, S.C.
Tobias Hyman, Charleston, S.C.
Ryan Ayer, Middlesex, Vt.
William Bruce, Columbia, S.C.
Caleb Black, Greenville, S.C. (Commander)

Tango Company
Trent Purcell, Newberry, S.C.
Nicholas Hasty, Spartanburg, S.C.
John Neblett, Jackson, Tenn.
Albert Hemphill, Greenwood, S.C.
Troy Adamek, West Chester, Pa.
Yban Nieto, Wadesboro, N.C.
Donavan Bennet, Roswell, Ga.

5th Battalion
Papa Company
Rob McRae, Hixson, Tenn.
Justin Tretera, Goose Creek, S.C.

Palmetto Battery 
Chris Aultman, Smyrna, Tenn.
Michael Nicholas, Fort Meade, Md.
Jason Mag, Duluth, Ga.

Sierra Company
Benjamin Canipe, Hickory, N.C.

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top