The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
12 Sep 2008

Cadet leadership, academic, military performance recognized

Three cadet companies have been recognized for outstanding leadership, academic and military performance and community responsibility during the 2007-2008 academic year. The awards were presented during the Sept. 12, 2008 military dress parade at The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina.

The President’s Cup was established by Gen. Hugh P. Harris, president of The Citadel from 1967 to 1970. The cup is awarded annually to the cadet company that establishes the highest combined score in academic achievement, military performance, extracurricular participation and fourth-class retention during the previous academic year.

The President’s Cup is the highest honor that can be given to a cadet company. The winning company receives the title of Honor Company and this year will serve as ambassadors of The Citadel during special functions statewide.

The Honor Company is Alpha Company. Cadet Capt. Joseph Kane, company commander, accepted the award.

The Gen. Charles P. Summerall Cup is named for The Citadel’s president from 1931 to 1953. It is donated by the European Citadel Association and is awarded annually to the cadet company with the best academic achievement. Companies are rated on average GPA for the fall and spring semesters with consideration for any increase or decrease between semesters.

This year’s Summerall Cup winner with an overall GPA 3.0 is Palmetto Battery. Cadet Capt. Jeffrey Creech, commander, accepted the award. This is the 8th consecutive year Palmetto Battery has won this award.

Each year the Commandant of Cadets presents the Commandant’s Cup to the company earning the highest points in parade and squad drill performance. The award was established by Lt. Col. William C. Miller, commandant from 1926 to 1931.

The 2007-2008 winner of the Commandant’s Cup is Oscar Company. Oscar commander Cadet Capt. Richard Jackson accepted the award.

The Milton A. Pearlstine Award is presented annually by The Citadel Alumni Association in honor of Milton A. Pearlstine, Citadel Class of 1919 and past association president. The award recognizes the cadet company achieving the highest freshman class GPA for the previous school year.

The winner is Palmetto Battery. Commander Cadet Capt. Jeffery Creech accepted the award. Palmetto Battery has won this award seven times since 1998-1999. This is the fifth consecutive win.

The Murray D. Bonnoitt Award is presented annually in honor of Murray D. Bonnoitt, Citadel Class of 1962 and past president of the alumni association to the cadet company with the highest freshman class retention rate for the previous school year.

This year’s winner is Alpha Company. Commander Cadet Capt. Joseph Kane accepted the award.

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top