The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
9 May 2009

The Citadel presents 2009 Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

More Class of 2009 commencement news

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award is a bronze medallion presented by the college through the New York Southern Society to students and faculty in recognition of high thought and noble endeavor.

Cadet Brennin Scott Colegrove and education professor Kathryn Anne Richardson Jones were recognized during the Class of 2009 commencement exercise Saturday, May 9, 2009.

Brennin Scott Colegrove


Cadet Second Lieutenant Brennin Scott Colegrove’s leadership and service to fellow cadets exemplify the ideals of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award.

Cadet Colegrove, from Pasadena, Maryland, entered The Citadel in 2005 as a member of The Citadel Honors Program. While pursuing a double major in physics and computer science, Cadet Colegrove has compiled an outstanding record of academic achievement. He has earned Dean’s List status every semester, and his leadership qualities were recognized when he gained placement on the Commandant’s List and the President’s List. 

Cadet Colegrove has steadily performed in the Honors Program during his four years at The Citadel, and he has received many academic awards. He was selected for the 2008 McGarey Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Natural Science. He was inducted into Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society and the Sigma Pi Sigma Physics Honor Society. In addition, Cadet Colegrove was the recipient of the Major General Wallace E. Anderson Scholarship for Outstanding Achievement in Physics and the National Sojourners Award for 2008. He is also a member of the Who’s Who Among American College Students.

Cadet Colegrove participated in the Pep Band and in the Candlelight Brass Choir. He is a member of the Society of Physics Students where he served as Secretary, and The Citadel Eagle Scout Association. He also served as the Chapel Usher Team Leader, participated in the Chapel Color Guard as the Commander, and has served as his Company Religious Representative. Cadet Colegrove has also participated in the Ballroom Dance Club, intramural volleyball, flag football, and basketball, all while maintaining his 3.8 grade point average.

Because of his selfless service, character, and leadership in the South Carolina Corps of Cadets, Cadet Second Lieutenant Brennin Scott Colegrove is a most fitting recipient of the 2009 Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award.

Kathryn Anne Richardson Jones


As an associate professor of education at The Citadel, Dr. Kathryn Anne Richardson Jones has distinguished herself by her leadership and loyalty to The Citadel. Her commitment to the students and the college represent the ideals of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award.

Throughout her seven years at The Citadel, she has been involved in numerous activities to aid Citadel students in their education. She has served as the Coordinator of Teacher Education Programs and Director of Communication across the Curriculum.

Dr. Jones has taught many graduate and undergraduate courses including Educational Psychology, Foundations of American Education, Methods and Materials of Secondary School Teaching, and others. In addition to her dedication in the classroom, Dr. Jones has been actively involved in the Core Curriculum Oversight Committee, the Education Academic Oversight Committee, and the Graduate Council.

Dr. Jones attended Georgia Southern College where she received her Bachelor of Science in secondary education in 1984 and her Master of Education in secondary education in 1989. Dr. Jones became an Education Specialist in secondary science and was endorsed as a Teacher Support Specialist in 1992. Dr. Jones earned her Doctor of Education in Curriculum Studies with an Emphasis in Instructional Improvement from Georgia Southern University in 2001. Dr. Jones has made an exceptional commitment to education and to students. She is currently affiliated with Phi Delta Kappa International Association for Professional Educators, the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, the National Science Teacher Association, and the Southeast Philosophy of Education Society.

Dr. Jones is also very active in her community. She is a member of First Baptist Church of Charleston and serves there as Sunday School teacher and a member of the Women's Enrichment Team.

In recognition of her commitment to others, her strong character, and her leadership in the School of Education, Dr. Kathryn Anne Richardson Jones has been selected as the 2009 faculty recipient of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award.

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top