The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
3 May 2012

Academic departments recognize scholarship, leadership, service

At the conclusion of the spring semester, academic departments at The Citadel present awards to outstanding students in many areas of study.

Here are the 2011-2012 academic award recipients that were recognized during the Commencement Week Awards Convocation on Thursday, May 3, 2012 in McAlister Field House.

The School of Business Administration Undergraduate of the Year
Josiah D. Neal
Selected by the Business Administration faculty as the most outstanding major.

The CPA Becker Award
Zachary N. Embry
The Becker award recognizes 50 students from across the United States for high moral character and leadership qualities. Recipients receive a scholarship to complete the Becker CPA Review Course in preparation for taking the CPA exam.

The School of Education
The Col. Charles E. Hershey Award
Morgan T. Snody
The Hershey award recognizes the most outstanding graduate in teacher education. The award is named for Charles Hershey, head of The Citadel Department of Education from 1969 to 1979.

The School of Engineering
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Col. Louis Shepherd LeTellier Award
Officer Candidate Jason B. Barker
Given annually to the member of the graduating class attaining the highest academic grade point ratio in civil engineering.

Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Peter Gaillard Award
Matthew R. Fann
Presented to an exceptional graduating electrical engineering student for outstanding scholastic achievement, leadership and extracurricular participation.

The School of Science and Mathematics
Dr. Francis Eugene Zemp Award
William Welch
Given annually to the senior cadet with the highest academic average in the field of pre-medicine.

Outstanding Student Award
Shanna Couch
Recognizes superior academic achievement by an undergraduate major from the School of Science and Mathematics’ disciplines.

Thomas Francis McGarey Award
Charles Payne and Evan Aguirre
Recognizes the senior cadet with the highest scholastic ranking in the field of natural science. Given annually in memory of Thomas Francis McGarey, Citadel class of 1914.

The School of Humanities & Social Services
The Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Award
Mary E. Bennett
Presented annually to the graduating senior who best represents the commitment to academic excellence, breadth of intellectual interests and dedication to public service as exemplified by Joseph Riley, Citadel class of 1964 and mayor of Charleston since 1975.


Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Jennifer Wallace
(843) 953-7842

Back to Top