The Military College of South Carolina Dare to Lead

Info Academics Admissions Alumni Cadet Life Graduate College Evening Undergrad Athletics Connect Giving
Close this window

Giving to The Citadel

  • The Citadel Foundation
  • Blueprint
  • The Citadel Brigadier Foundation

Citadel News Service
19 Mar 2011

2012 Summerall Guards make debut before huge Corps Day crowd

The 2012 Summerall Guards made its debut during the 168th Corps Day celebration Saturday, March 19, 2011, at The Citadel.

Sixty-one rising seniors who have gone through a rigorous physical training and initiation process comprise the silent precision drill platoon. Members are chosen for their physical stamina and drill proficiency. Membership is considered a high honor by cadets at the military college.

The Summerall Guards' Clubb Award was presented to Cadet Will Walker, Class of 2011, of Waynesville, N.C. The award is presented to the member of the Summerall Guards voted by his peers as its most outstanding member. The award is named for Harold K. Clubb, Class of '68, who died in a plane crash in 1971.
The platoon was created in 1932 and named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former chief of staff of the U.S. Army and president of The Citadel from 1931 until 1953. Its purpose is to exemplify - through a unique series of movements based on the old German close order drill and performed to a silent count - the exactness and thoroughness with which The Citadel cadets are trained. Members come from nearly every company in the Corps.

During the exchange of rifles ceremony, the 2011 platoon presented the annual Clubb Award to Cadet Will Walker, Class of 2011, of Waynesville, N.C. The award is presented to the member of the Summerall Guards voted by his peers as its most outstanding member. The award is named for Harold K. Clubb, Class of '68, who died in a plane crash in 1971.

Also presented was the Anthony Griffin Sword, which is passed down from the current Summerall Guards commander to the new commander each year. Cadet Matthew Barry Moser of Camden, S.C., the commander of the 2012 Summerall Guards, received the sword during the rifle exchange.

Here are the members of the 2012 Summerall Guards:

Alpha Company
Kent Gonzales, Weddington, N.C.
Brian Paul Cirillo, Fort Mill, S.C.
John Saxon Bethmann, Jacksonville, Fla.
Andrew Vail, Vienna, Va.

Bravo Company
Brett Andrew Collins, Longwood, Fla.
Timothy James Fischer, Cincinnati, Ohio

Charlie Company
James Thomas Beattie, Hartsville, S.C.
Frank Samuel Dioguardi, Massapequa, N.Y.
Ellison Capers Glenn, Pawleys Island, S.C.
Mark Austin Hood, Columbia, S.C.

Delta Company
Chad Michael Bonner, Tega Cay, S.C.

Echo Company
Ryan Schieber, Ivyland, Pa. 

Foxtrot Company 
Charles Bellamy Aimar, Charleston, S.C.
Byron Doan, Charleston, S.C.
Anthony J. Koert, Stanhope, N.J.
Matthew Barry Moser, Camden, S.C., guard commander  

Golf Company
Aaron Dumond, Buford, Ga.
Ian Robert Sher, Miami, Fla.
Daniel R. Taylor, Charlotte, N.C .

Hotel Company
Alan M. Riley, Goose Creek, S.C.
Max Joseph Tresnak, Platte City, Mo.

India Company
James Neil Brabham, Greer, S.C.
Adam Patrick Shuster, Myrtle Beach, S.C.
Thomas Kelly Starnes, Rock Hill, S.C.
Sutton Lee Ward, Sarasota, Fla.

Kilo Company
Matthew Cason Collier, Greer, S.C., supply sergeant 
Michael Joseph Tyo Fox, Rochester, N.Y.
Colt Marcyan, Lake Forest, Ill.
Graham Reeder, Denton, Texas
Edwin C. Stephens III, Mullins, S.C.
Lucas Christopher Wren, New Knoxville, Ohio

Lima Company
Ryan Emerson Orcutt, Loveland, Ohio
Colin Alexander Raden, Rockville, Md.
Samuel Colby Venuti, Fort Walton Beach, Fla.

Mike Company
Adam Christopher Lawrence, Walhalla, S.C.
Joel Anthony Pellicci, Columbia, S.C.
David Matthew Webb, Middletown, Del., front guide 

November Company
Ryan Thomas Heavner, Hagerstown, Md.
Michael Ryan Brooks, Colorado Springs, Colo

Oscar Company
Kyle Christopher Fry, Simpsonville, S.C.
James Joseph Hurton, Saunderstown, R.I.
Christopher S. Meindl, Wayland, Mass.
Skylar Martin Moran, Goose Creek, S.C.

Romeo Company
William Kory Hood, Evans, Ga.
Bryan Michael Pompeii, Weddington, N.C.

Tango Company
William Robert Duin, Bellaire, Texas
Jeffrey H. Hill, Hendersonville, N.C.
Collin Christian Alexander, Simpsonville, S.C.

Sierra Company
Thomas Cook, Lake City, S.C.
Ryan Trey Moseley, Villa Rica, Ga. 

Palmetto Battery 
Nathaniel P. Woolsey, Ridgefield, Wash.
Nicholas S. Stilwell, Hoschton, Ga.
Corbin Andrew Aldridge, Manning, S.C.
Charles Lawrence Smith, Kirtland, Ohio
Christopher Troy Evans, Moncks Corner, S.C.
Ryan James Smith, Wadsworth, Ohio

Papa Company
Anthony Allen Rera, Cornwall, N.Y., rear guide 
Devin Michael Hamilton, Chesapeake, Va.
Jorge Larranaga, Windermere, Fla.
Richard K. Owen, Kirtland, Ohio, first sergeant
Lewis Albert Wilson, Mission Viejo, Calif.
Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(843) 953-2155