The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

Citadel News Service
20 Mar 2010

2011 Summerall Guards make performance debut at Corps Day

Sixty-one juniors have been selected to become members of the 2011 Summerall Guards at The Citadel.

The Summerall Guards is a silent precision drill platoon made up of seniors who go through a rigorous physical training and initiation process and are chosen for their physical stamina and drill proficiency. Membership is considered a high honor by cadets at the military college.

The 2011 Summerall Guards made their official debut at Corps Day on March 20 during an exchange of rifles ceremony.They will continue their duties through their senior year.

The platoon was created in 1932 and named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former chief of staff of the U.S. Army and president of The Citadel from 1931 until 1953. Its purpose is to exemplify -- through a unique series of movements based on the old German close order drill and performed to a silent count -- the exactness and thoroughness with which The Citadel cadets are trained. Members come from nearly every company in the Corps.

The 2011 Summerall Guards made their official debut at Corps Day on March 20 during an exchange of rifles ceremony. They will continue their duties through their senior year. Corps Day is the 167th birthday celebration of the South Carolina Corps of Cadets.

Also during Corps Day events, the Summerall Guards presented the annual Clubb Award to Cadet 2nd Lt. Joe Villeneuve, the 2010 Summerall Guards first sergeant, of Lineboro, Md.. The award is presented to the member of the Summerall Guards voted by his peers as its most outstanding member. The award is named for Harold K. Clubb, Class of '68, who died in a plane crash in 1971.

Also presented was the Anthony Griffin Sword, which is passed down from the current Summerall Guards commander to the new commander each year. Cadet Aaron A. Garbade of Okatie, S.C., is the new commander of the 2011 Summerall Guards.

Tanner Joshua Cobb, Renton, Wash.
Wesley George Dempster, Richmond, Texas
Austin Cole, Errthum, Charleston, S.C.
William Patrick Leek, Jr., Beaufort, S.C.
Gary Richard Moore, II, Hilliard, Ohio
Joseph Michael Tkach, Beaufort, S.C.
Christopher Anthony White, Ninety Six, S.C.

Nelson Griggs Lalli, Roswell, Ga.

James Riley Harrell, Savannah, Ga.
William McGillivray Morrison, Charleston, S.C.

John P. Lellos, Alexandria, N.H.

Kyle Glen Edseth, Cumming, Ga.
Paul Andrew Jackson, Wadmalaw Island, S.C.
James Elliot Morris, Fort Mill, S.C.
Abraham Joseph Raymond, Saint Louis Park, Minn.
Joshua Christopher Stephanoff, Charleston, S.C.

Justin P. Wilson, North Charleston, S.C.

James Dominick DeCuollo, Neshanic Station, N.J.
Adam Daniel Murphy, Columbia, S.C.
Jason Eric Posnick, Nashua, N.H.

Brenden James Becherer, Raleigh, N.C.
Daniel Nathan Biegger, Summerville, S.C.
Lloyd Edward Carroll, III, Abbeville, S.C.
Aaron Alexander Garbade, Okatie, S.C.
Benjamin Phillip Hawkins, Littlestown, Pa.
Zachary Thomas Honeycutt, Albermarle, N.C.
Nicholas Case Wylie, Cincinnati, Ohio

Eric Wade Rychwa, Folly Beach, S.C.
Stephan Vaughan Townes, Charleston, S.C.

Brendan O’Hara Prince, Huntsville, Ala.
Matthew Lawrence Spysinski, Roswell, Ga.
David Anthony Watts, Summerville, S.C.

Louis Michael DeCuollo, Neshanic Station, N.J.
Christopher McLaine Hurst, Roswell, Ga.
Andrew Orban Stephens, Lilburn, Ga.
Peter Jonathan Vazquez, Flemington, N.J.

Tyler Body Coates, Lexington, S.C.
Robert Jeffery Gerth, Lexington, S.C.
Kyle Robert Mirabelli, Phillipsburg, N.J.
Patrick Andrew Waters, Peachtree City, Ga.
John Travis Williams, Knoxville, Tenn.

George Philip Higdon, IV, Charleston, S.C.
Brent Roland LaChance, Ridgeville, S.C.

Chonmanart Ngampeerapong, Washington, D.C.
Matthew Dominic Sheaffer, Spotsylvania, Va.
Bryan Daniel Silva, Duluth, Ga.
Joseph Whitworth Stukes, Summerton, S.C.

Daniel Josue Cruz-Leiva, Fort Mill, S.C.
Grant Joseph Mattingley, Middletown, Md.

Alan Wiltshire, III, Duluth, Ga.

Jonathan Nicholas Beck, North Charleston, S.C.
Phillip George Davis, Spartanburg, S.C.
Ryan Christopher Gannon, Severna Park, Md.
Cory Keith Hudson, Goodlettsville, Tenn.
Marttin Enriquez Periola, Chula Vista, Calif.
Alexander Michael Player, Fort Belvoir, Va.
Brad Michael Strausbaugh, Woodbine, Ga.
Spencer Trent Toberman, Johns Island, S.C.
William Christopher Walker, Waynesville, N.C.

Jesse Warren Coffman, Fort Belvoir, Va.
Cory Ross Moyer, Freedom, Pa.

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top