The Citadel

The Military College of South Carolina

Dare to Lead

Citadel News Service
8 Apr 2008

Honor Committee representatives for 08-09 selected

After completing an extensive training program at The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina, the Honor Committee officers and company and battalion representatives have been selected for the 2008-2009 academic year. These newly appointed cadets, all of which are rising seniors, assumed their responsibilities following spring break.

Honor is the most cherished principle at The Citadel. The Citadel strives to achieve excellence in the education of principled leaders. The Honor Code encompasses all aspects of cadet life, from academic integrity to personal integrity. It has evolved from an unwritten tradition known as the "code of the gentleman" to a formalized code in September of 1955, when the Corps of Cadets unanimously voted to establish The Honor Code. The development of a cadet into a principled leader is a four-tiered process that includes knowing, adhering, believing, and leading. Its culmination is seen in the cadets who internalize the code, and the alumni who continually apply it throughout their lives.

The new Honor Committee will continue to support The Citadel’s core values by maintaining integrity within the South Carolina Corps of Cadets.

Honor Committee officers for the upcoming year are:

  • Chairman: Stephen Guess, Mike Company, Lafayette, La.
  • Vice-chairman for Investigations: Sean Donohue, F-Troop , New London, N.H.
  • Vice-chairman for Education: William Nall, Hotel Company, Newnan, Ga.
  • Secretary: Marcus Toop, Bravo Company, Stony Brook, N.Y.

Battalion Representatives for the upcoming year are:

  • 1st Battalion - Jayson Siler, Alpha Company, Simpsonville, S.C.
  • 2nd Battalion - Henry Dominick, Hotel Company, Prosperity, S.C.
  • 3rd Battalion - Calvin McAdams, Kilo Company, Greenacres, Fla.
  • 4th Battalion - Jonathan Calhoun, November Company, Cary, N.C.
  • Regimental Support Battalion - Roger Long, Palmetto Battery, Sumter, S.C. 

Company representatives are:

Tyler Gardner, Orangeburg, S.C.
Chris Thurmond, Rock Hill, S.C.

Avel Fernandez , Jacksonville, N.C.
Patrick French, Goose Creek, S.C.

Megan Jenkins, Cheyenne, Wyo.
Jayson McDonald, Nicholasville, Ky.

Austin Neal, Charlotte, N.C.
Andrew Heath, Easton, Pa.

Wade Coleman, Blair, S.C.
Joshua Kandell Quogue, N.Y.

David Fuqua, Corpus Christi, Texas
Bradley Roberson, Raleigh, N.C. 

Brian Elender, Florence, S.C.
Joshua Rice, Greer, S.C.

Ronald Layne, New Milford, N.J.
Cameron Welniak, Duluth, Ga.

David Johnson, Greenville, S.C.
Greg Schulman, Garden Grove, Calif.

Sarah Strickland, Belton, S.C. 
Robert Frenz, Charleston, S.C.

Blake Benton, Coward, S.C.
Gary Turner, Goose Creek, S.C. 

Derek Moore, Sumter, S.C. 
Ashley Weeks, Decatur, Ga. 

Kasey Newcomer, Inman, S.C.
Brian Randall, Williamsburg, Va.

Kiel Koehler, Roswell, Ga.
Patrick Sommer, Ridgefield, Conn. 

Brian Rhett, Chapin, S.C.
Roger White, Statesboro, Ga.

Mike O'Beirne, Simpsonville, S.C.
Stephen Wright, North Charleston, S.C. 

Joseph Dyches, Burton, S.C. 
Austin Young, Fremont, Ohio
Brett Burleigh, Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. (appointment effective spring 2009)

Craig Nettles, Summerville, S.C.
Bryant Marcell, Goose Creek. S.C.

Palmetto Battery
Matt Millard, Guntersville, Ala.
Patricia Thibodeau, Clermont, Ga.

Achieving excellence in the education and development of principled leaders
Media Contact:
Kim Keelor-Parker
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(843) 953-2155

Back to Top