Why The Citadel?
January 2012 Print E-mail

Attending members:  E. Wallace, L. Arnold, S. Heuston, J. Coe, P. Nolan, H. Hart, S. Banik, S. Yost, and D. Matthews.


Scott Yost is the newly elected Chair of the Committee for the term beginning July 1, 2012.


To address a request by the Committee on Committees, we brainstormed frequently asked questions to provide information about the Committee and the application process. These will be posted on our Web site along with the answers to those questions.


In response to faculty complaints, we discussed changing deadlines for submissions, because sometimes the deadlines are too near to, or even after, an activity for which a faculty member is seeking funding. We talked about possibly not having deadlines at all, but because applications are ranked for our report to the Provost, we must received them in batches.  It was agree that changing deadlines will not address the issue of timing, as mentioned above.


A new standard format will be added to the application form in order to address a problem with online applications. It has often been the case that supporting documents do not accompany the electronic version of the application, or they are submitted in several separate files. We hope this new format will streamline the review of process.


As I approach the end of my term as chair of this committee, I would like to thank the committee for their hard work and for their support of my efforts.