Why The Citadel?
How To Apply Print E-mail

Only tenured and tenure-track faculty are eligible to receive a Citadel Foundation Faculty Development Grant.


The Faculty Development Committee takes proposals for each of the four quarters of the fiscal year. During the 2013-2014 academic year, the proposal deadlines will be:


October-December quarter


26 August

January-March quarter


21 October

April-June quarter


10 February

July-September quarter


15 April


Applications are due by close of business (4:30 p.m.) on the designated dates.  The dates are earlier this year, in an attempt to permit decisions to be made by the start of each funding quarter.


The committee will consider applications for activities taking place in a later quarter than called for if there are compelling reasons (such as early registration deadlines).


Once a decision has been reached, applicants will receive notification from the Provost on the status of their application. To apply, please follow these steps:

  1. Read the criteria which describe the kinds of activities eligible for a grant, and decide how your proposal will address the criteria.
  2. Use the current application form and address each of its ten items. If you do not have all the information requested by the form, please explain.
  3. Fill out the application form and attach all necessary supporting documentation. Please include conference agenda showing meals provided, copy of hotel / airfare quote or receipt, and mileage documentation (Google Maps, MapQuest, ...) if driving. Ask your department head to endorse the application form by completing item #7.
  4. Submit an electronic copy of your application via the Submission Form. The preferred format is a single MS Word or PDF file including all documentation, but two files may be submitted if necessary.  The department head's signature in item #7 need not be present in the electronic version, but must be included in the printed versions. If you have trouble with the form, you may e-mail the application to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .
  5. Send two paper copies to the Chair of the Faculty Development Committee:
    Scott Yost, Department of Physics, 246 Grimsley Hall by close of business on the designated deadline date for each quarter.


If you have questions about the application process, please refer them to one of the members of the committee: (2013-14)


Biology Kristy Johnson
Business Administration Carl Betterton
Chemistry Michael Dorko
Civil Engineering John Murden
Criminal Justice Matthew Zommer
Education Stephenie Hewett
Electrical Engineering Jason Skinner
English Sean Heuston
Health, Exercise & Sport Science
Faith Richardson
History Christopher Wright
Library Elise Wallace
Mathematics & Computer Science Rigoberto Florez
Modern Languages Juan Bahk
Physics  (Committee Chair) Scott Yost
Political Science Sarah Tenney
Psychology Lori Fernald